> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 13 February 2014
  • ISBN: 9781448169054
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 320

Don't Stand So Close




Stunning debut psychological thriller in the vein of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER and SISTER.

A lingering, compulsive debut novel that will keep you tightly in its grip.

What would you do if a young girl knocked on your door and asked for your help?

If it was snowing and she was freezing cold, but you were afraid and alone?

What would you do if you let her in, but couldn’t make her leave?

What if she told you terrible lies about someone you love, but the truth was even worse?

Traumatized by her final case as a psychologist, Stella only feels truly safe hidden away in the isolated house she shares with her husband, Max.

Then Blue appears in the middle of a snow-storm, begging to be let in. As secrets and lies gradually seep out of the young girl, Stella’s tightly controlled world begins to unravel . . .

  • Pub date: 13 February 2014
  • ISBN: 9781448169054
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 320

About the Author

Luana Lewis

Luana Lewis is a clinical psychologist and author of two non-fiction books. As well as writing for several newspapers, magazines and journals, she has recently completed an MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University. She has also attended workshops at Arvon and City Lit.

Also by Luana Lewis

See all

Praise for Don't Stand So Close

“A frighteningly tense debut novel. The skin-crawling intimacy sets this thriller apart. The tension is almost suffocating, with a palpable feeling of dread leaping off every page. A searing debut...and not to be missed.”

Daily Mail

“A beautiful read, brimming with intrigue and suspense… It’s an incredibly accomplished debut, a real heart-racing chiller, and I genuinely didn't want it to end!”

Samantha Hayes, author of Until You're Mine

“This is a wonderfully tense story, full of characters who may or may not be telling the truth. Compellingly, creepy - not one to read while home alone.”

Glamour

“A stunning debut psychological thriller.”

Sun

“A tense, claustrophobic, and deeply unsettling novel about the damage a disturbed teenager threatens to wreak on one woman’s life.”

Penny Hancock, author of Tideline, a Richard & Judy selection

“An assured debut novel that will have you turning the pages to discover the truth.”

Paula Daly, author of Just What Kind of Mother Are You?

“Don’t Stand So Close is a heady cocktail . . . Obsession, repression and delusion twist their tentacles throughout Luana Lewis’s riveting and remarkable debut.”

Elizabeth Forbes, author of Nearest Thing to Crazy

“An unflinching account of emotional damage and how hard it can be to uncover the truth”

My Weekly


Related titles