> Skip to content

A fierce, emotional, contemporary novel about the pursuit of a meaningful life: three women think they can have it all. But soon they realise that even having some of it can be a challenge. For fans of Zadie Smith, Sheila Heti and Sally Rooney.

'Anna Hope has a way of getting inside difficult and painful moments, turning them inside out. I felt I knew these women as my own friends. Taut, electric, complex, funny' RACHEL JOYCE, author of The Unexpected Pilgrimage of Harold Fry


'Few novels leave me genuinely breathless with their brilliance. EXPECTATION is one of them' HANNAH BECKERMAN
**********
Hannah, Cate and Lissa are young, vibrant and inseparable. Living on the edge of a common in East London, their shared world is ablaze with art and activism, romance and revelry – and the promise of everything to come. They are electric. They are the best of friends.

Ten years on, they are not where they hoped to be. Amidst flailing careers and faltering marriages, each hungers for what the others have. And each wrestles with the same question: what does it take to lead a meaningful life?

EXPECTATION is a novel of the highs and lows of friendship – how it can dip, dive and rise again. It is also about finding your way: as a mother, a daughter, a wife, a rebel. Most of all, it explores that liminal space between expectation and reality, the place – full of dreams, desires and pain – in which we all live our lives.

'SO GOOD. A 'What they did next' story of characters from a Sally Rooney novel' SARAH FRANKLIN

'An intimate and touching portrayal of female friendship that shows it's okay to just be' NINA POTTELL

'I tore through EXPECTATION at the weekend. Exceptional, gorgeously written, and reads like a love letter to London. I highly recommend it' STACEY HALLS, bestselling author of The Familiars

'Jaw-droppingly good' SARRA MANNING

'Like Normal People but about female friendship rather than a romantic relationship. It is AWESOME' ERIN KELLY

Reviews

EDITOR'S CHOICE: I enjoyed this contemporary novel about the gulf between the expectation of how life will turn out and the reality... [it] taps into the current conversation about finding fulfilment and living a meaningful life.

Alice O'Keeffe, The Bookseller

BEST BOOKS FOR JULY: Expectation has defied all my expectations and completely redefined the friendship novel. Each of the characters resonated with me and I’m in awe of the way Anna Hope captures what it means to be a woman, right here, right now, with all the precision of a surgeon’s knife.

Red Magazine

Succulent, tender and honest, EXPECTATION is about the relationships between women: love, loss, triumph and betrayal. It was one of those books that knowingly flirted, then seduced me and then utterly ravished me

TOR UDALL

Brilliant portrayal of long-term female friendships . . . I was gripped.

Prima

Jaw-droppingly good

SARRA MANNING

The real joy of this novel – while exploring just what second wave feminism has done for this generation of women (“you’ve had everything… we changed the world for you. For our daughters. And what have you done with it?”) – is in it’s writing; the dialogue and the honesty behind these characters who are doing their best, who are trying to live up to the fictional counterparts that they themselves have created… It’s the perfect summer reading

STYLIST MAGAZINE

Like NORMAL PEOPLE but about female friendship rather than a romantic relationship. It is AWESOME.

ERIN KELLY

Hope’s writing is sublime and her characters so well fleshed out they will feel like friends at the end

Good Housekeeping

I loved it. Raw, honest, unputdownable.

TAMMY COHEN

Few novels leave me genuinely breathless with their brilliance. EXPECTATION is one of them. This book is beautiful. I am in AWE

HANNAH BECKERMAN

I tore through EXPECTATION at the weekend. Exceptional gorgeously written and reads like a love letter to London. I highly recommend it

STACEY HALLS, bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS

I absolutely loved this. What really appealed to me was the depiction of the parents, about legacy and about what the mother's generation leaves for the one that comes after

ANNE YOUNGSON

A generation-defining book, honest and relatable on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like NORMAL PEOPLE with female friendship under the microscope

ERIN KELLY, bestselling author of HE SAID/SHE SAID

Anna Hope has a way of getting inside difficult and painful moments, turning them inside out. I felt I knew these women as my own friends. Taut, electric, complex, funny.

RACHEL JOYCE bestselling author of THE UNEXPECTED PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY

Will resonate with approximately 99 % of all women

RED magazine summer pick

A Sally Rooney-esque evocative examination of female friendship

BEST SUMMER READS, i-newspaper

Absolutely encapsulates what it means to be a young woman today, and beyond

Grazia Magazine

Such a dark, relatable, elegant take on how time alters female friendships: how we become THESE people and our friends become THOSE people. Anyway, I loved it. You probably will, too

LIZA KLAUSSMANN, author of Tigers in Red Weather

An intimate and touching portrayal of female friendship that shows it's okay to just be

NINA POTTELL

So fresh, human, kind and relatable

JENNY COLGAN

A deftly crafted hymn to the comfort and frustration of female friendship from one of our most gifted contemporary writers

WATERSTONES

Sensual and evocative, deeply attuned to both the inner lives of the protagonists

CULTUREFLY

The prose is beautiful, the characters achingly real, their flawed decisions enraging and yet somehow still relatable. This wonderful book will resonate with every woman who reads it

LOUISE O'NEILL

One of the most intensely readable novels I've encountered this year

METRO

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Trade Paperback

    9780857524911

    July 16, 2019

    Doubleday

    336 pages

    RRP $35.00

    Online retailers

    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • Fishpond
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.co.nz

  • Hardback

    9780857524904

    July 11, 2019

    Doubleday

    352 pages

    RRP $40.00

    Online retailers

    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • Fishpond
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.co.nz

  • EBook

    9781473543423

    July 11, 2019

    Transworld Digital

    352 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle NZ
    • iBooks NZ
    • Google Play EBook NZ
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia NZ
  • Audio Download

    9781473571341

    July 11, 2019

    Transworld Digital

    Online retailers

    • Audible NZ
    • Google Play Audio NZ
    • Kobo Audiobook

Also by Anna Hope