> Skip to content

The power of a mother's love is tested in this race-against-time debut thriller, perfect for fans of ROOM and WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN.

OBSERVER THRILLER OF THE MONTH

‘A page-turning, adrenaline-soaked read . . . an eloquent and meditative insight into motherhood and what it means, its many small trials and wonders.’ Alison Flood, Observer

‘I devoured it in one breathless sitting. Outstanding.’ Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go and I See You

‘It tore at every maternal fibre in my body. I couldn’t put it down.’ Fiona Barton, author of The Widow

************

Lincoln is a good boy. At the age of four, he is curious, clever and well behaved. He does as his mum says and knows what the rules are.

'The rules are different today. The rules are that we hide and do not let the man with the gun find us.'

When an ordinary day at the zoo turns into a nightmare, Joan finds herself trapped with her beloved son. She must summon all her strength, find unexpected courage and protect Lincoln at all costs – even if it means crossing the line between right and wrong; between humanity and animal instinct.

It's a line none of us would ever normally dream of crossing.

But sometimes the rules are different.

************
Fierce Kingdom is a bold exploration of the ferocity of a mother’s love - riveting and beautiful, and all too real. You’ll find yourself asking, what would I do? It’s brilliant.’ Shari Lapena, author of The Couple Next Door

Unbearably tense and yet beautifully written, Fierce Kingdom demands to be read in one sitting. After finishing, I pulled my loved ones a little closer.’ Paula Daly, author of The Mistake I Made

'I was absolutely captivated by this book. So, so tense, but wonderfully written. The perfect book.’ Gillian McAllister, author of Everything But The Truth


Reviews

I devoured it in one breathless sitting. Outstanding.

Clare Mackintosh, author of I LET YOU GO and I SEE YOU

Fierce Kingdom is a bold exploration of the ferocity of a mother’s love - riveting and beautiful, and all too real. You’ll find yourself asking, what would I do? It’s brilliant.

Shari Lapena, author of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR

I was absolutely captivated by this book. So, so tense, but wonderfully written. The perfect book.

Gillian McAllister, author of EVERYTHING BUT THE TRUTH

It tore at every maternal fibre in my body. I couldn’t put it down.

Fiona Barton, author of THE WIDOW

Unbearably tense and yet beautifully written, Fierce Kingdom demands to be read in one sitting. After finishing, I pulled my loved ones a little closer.

Paula Daly, author of THE MISTAKE I MADE

Taut, tense and moving.

Chris Ewan

A terrifying premise executed with tension and tenderness, and a testament to how far we'll go to save our loved ones.

Ali Land, author of GOOD ME, BAD ME

Tense and beautifully written, I could not put this down.

Fiona Cummins, author of RATTLE

A page-turning, adrenaline-soaked read . . . an eloquent and meditative insight into motherhood and what it means, its many small trials and wonders.

Alison Flood, OBSERVER (Thriller of the Month)

Tense and harrowing scenes make for some extraordinarily haunting moments . . . a powerful, unsettling book.

Laura Wilson, GUARDIAN

Tense, atmospheric . . . The story is as much about being a parent as it is an action thriller, which brings a satisfying extra dimension.

Daily Mail

Tense, captivating and beautifully written, Fierce Kingdom will keep you reading into the small hours and you'll still be thinking about it long after you've finished . . . It builds to an ending that will leave you breathless.

Daily Express

An outdoors version of Emma Donoghue's Room . . . Fierce Kingdom works flawlessly as a thriller with expert pacing and a well-judged ending, but its most remarkable feature is its portrayal of motherhood.

Sunday Times

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Trade Paperback

    9780857525017

    June 19, 2017

    Doubleday

    288 pages

    RRP $35.00

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

  • Hardback

    9780857525000

    June 15, 2017

    Doubleday

    288 pages

    RRP $40.00

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

Extract

4:55 p.m.

For a long while Joan has managed to balance on the balls of her bare feet, knees bent, skirt skimming the dirt. But now her thighs are giving out, so she puts a hand down and eases onto the sand.

Something jabs at her hip bone. She reaches underneath her leg and fishes out a small plastic spear – no longer than a finger – and it is no surprise, because she is always finding tiny weapons in unexpected places.

‘Did you lose a spear?’ she asks. ‘Or is this one a scepter?’

Lincoln does not answer her, although he takes the piece of plastic from her open hand. He apparently has been waiting for her lap to become available – he backs up, settling himself comfortably on her thighs, not a speck of sand on him. He has a fastidiousness about him; he never did like finger painting.

Continue Reading

Also by Gin Phillips

A Little Bit Of Spectacular

Recommendations

The Thirst
Make Me
The Girl on the Train
The Store
Don't Let Go
The Child
Two Nights
A Stranger in the House
Inferno
Bonfire
Final Girls
I Am Pilgrim
The Word Is Murder
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
Earthly Remains
After the Fire
Line of Fire
Fifty Fifty
The Girl Who Was Taken
The Murder of Allison Baden-Clay