> Skip to content

Warning - Tissues maybe required

It’s quite possible that the books on this booklist will trigger a tear fest, but rest assured there’s an enthralling plot to all of these novels and the journey on which the characters take the reader is emotionally charged. 

  • Wise, tough, heart-breaking, funny, this compulsive love story is about facing your demons.

  • Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green's most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

  • Featuring stunning cover artwork from the film of Nicola Yoon's first novel, the story about the girl who lived in a bubble - and the boy next door.

  • For fans of The Fault In Our Stars and All the Bright Places this unputdownable New York Times bestseller will be coming to Netflix in March 2017

  • The story of a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die.

  • Jennifer Niven delivers another poignant, exhilarating love story about finding that person who sees you for who you are - and seeing them right back.

  • What would you do if you had to choose? A haunting novel about the power of love and loss - a story that won't quite let you go.

  • 'What if the most devastating moment of your life was also the beginning of something beautiful? A compelling coming-of-age love story' (Jodi Picoult). Girl Underwater is a stunning work of New Adult fiction from a talented young writer.

  • The intensely moving and uncompromisingly honest story of 16-year-old Tessa, who is dying of leukaemia. A word-of-mouth bestseller, and now a major film starring Twilight's Dakota Fanning.

  • One of the greatest novels of the twentieth century - reissued in a stunning hardback design to celebrate the Salinger centenary.

  • The eagerly-awaited sequel to Gayle Forman's international best seller, If I Stay - now available in paperback

More Book Lists

Hungry for More

Feast your eyes on these delectable cookbooks.

Coffee Table Tomes

Books valued for their aesthetic appeal

Biography picks for Christmas gifting

There's always that one person who only reads biographies. Ever.

Start your te reo Maori journey here

Want to learn te reo Māori but not sure where to start?

Going West Writers Festival 2018

New Zealand’s leading authors, poets, playwrights and musicians.

Have you read them all?

New to the Diary of a Wimy Kid series? Or a fan from way back?