> Skip to content

Warning - Tissues maybe required

It’s quite possible that the books on this booklist will trigger a tear fest, but rest assured there’s an enthralling plot to all of these novels and the journey on which the characters take the reader is emotionally charged. 

  • Wise, tough, heart-breaking, funny, this compulsive love story is about facing your demons.

  • Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green's most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

  • Featuring stunning cover artwork from the film of Nicola Yoon's first novel, the story about the girl who lived in a bubble - and the boy next door.

  • For fans of The Fault In Our Stars and All the Bright Places this unputdownable New York Times bestseller will be coming to Netflix in March 2017

  • The story of a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die.

  • Jennifer Niven delivers another poignant, exhilarating love story about finding that person who sees you for who you are - and seeing them right back.

  • What would you do if you had to choose? A haunting novel about the power of love and loss - a story that won't quite let you go.

  • 'What if the most devastating moment of your life was also the beginning of something beautiful? A compelling coming-of-age love story' (Jodi Picoult). Girl Underwater is a stunning work of New Adult fiction from a talented young writer.

  • The intensely moving and uncompromisingly honest story of 16-year-old Tessa, who is dying of leukaemia. A word-of-mouth bestseller, and now a major film starring Twilight's Dakota Fanning.

  • One of the greatest novels of the twentieth century - reissued in a stunning hardback design to celebrate the Salinger centenary.

  • The eagerly-awaited sequel to Gayle Forman's international best seller, If I Stay - now available in paperback

More Book Lists

WORD Christchurch Festival Prep

Festival prep starts here.

Have you read them all?

New to the Diary of a Wimy Kid series? Or a fan from way back?

Amazing Women, Incredible Stories

Celebrate amazing women, and their incredible stories

Remarkable Stories

Remarkable people with remarkable stories to share

Fantastic New Fiction

April is a great month to be visiting the bookstore.