> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 March 2012
  • ISBN: 9780099546962
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $29.99

Or the Bull Kills You

(Max Cámara 1)




Gripping, hot-blooded detective fiction with an authentic Spanish setting – perfect for fans of Michael Dibdin

Either you kill the bull, or the bull kills you – traditional proverb.

Chief Inspector Max Cámara hates bullfighting but one hot afternoon in Valencia he has to replace his boss, judging a festival corrida that stars Spain’s most famous young matador. That night, he is summoned back to the bullring where the young matador’s dead body now lies, naked and mutilated.

As the city prepares for the Fallas, the five day festival of fireworks and celebrations, and the politicians work feverishly towards an election, Cámara hunts down his prey through the city’s streets and bars. But as he follows the trail of death, money, corruption and sex in search of the killer, he must also battle his own demons and desires...

  • Pub date: 15 March 2012
  • ISBN: 9780099546962
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $29.99

About the Author

Jason Webster

Brought up in England, Jason Webster has lived for many years in Spain. His acclaimed non-fiction books about Spain include Duende: A Journey in Search of Flamenco; Andalus: Unlocking the Secrets of Moorish Spain; Guerra: Living in the Shadows of the Spanish Civil War; Sacred Sierra: A Year on a Spanish Mountain and The Spy with 29 Names.

His Max Cámara series of crime novels started with Or the Bull Kills You, which was was longlisted for the CWA Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards New Blood Dagger 2011. This was followed by A Death in Valencia, The Anarchist Detective, Blood Med and A Body in Barcelona.

Also by Jason Webster

See all

Praise for Or the Bull Kills You

“One of the most attractive figures to enter recent detective fiction... Like the best detective stories, this book becomes a scrutiny of our most powerful drives and secrets”

Jane Jakeman, Independent

“Does for Spain what Michael Dibdin did to wonderful effect in his 'Zen' novels for Italy ... a marvellous novel ripe with passion, love and murder ... it is wonderful to read about a crime thriller in the sun - rather than the latest fashion of Swedish murders with its freezing cold and bleak weather, short days and long nights!”

Crimesquad.com

“Nifty plotting, great descriptions and the most enchanting new detective I've come across in a good while”

Guardian

“Cámara's approach to policing is pleasantly quixotic, involving as little time on the job as possible, but the shambolic cop with virility issues is absorbing company and Webster captures the manic atmosphere of the fiesta”

Siobhan Murphy, Metro

“He mixes the various ingredients of Valencian tradition, political factions and personal intrigue into a memorable paella of Mediterranean noir”

Independent

“More than a thrilling story of violence and detection; it takes the reader deep into the core of the Spanish culture... With well-portrayed characters - who could forget Carmen? - and a gripping plot led by a charismatic Cámara, Or The Bull Kills You is an excellent fanfare for what I hope will be a long series to come”

Shots Magazine

“Webster has completely nailed Chief Inspector Max Cámara, while vividly bringing to life Valencia”

Daily Mirror

“The antidote to all those dour Nordic thrillers has arrived in the shape of Jason Webster's Chief Inspector Max Camara... With local colour and a protagonist who is not afraid of life's sensual pleasures, Webster's creation, in the first of a planned series of books, has hit the ground running”

Glasgow Herald

“Camara is set to be the central figure in a series of novels by Webster and, if his first outing is anything to go by, he should grow into a popular figures”

Press Association

“An excellent first novel .... The author's voice is fresh and authoritative, and both the setting (Valencia at the height of the bullfighting season) and the underlying subject (the rights and wrongs of bullfighting) are fascinating.... Highly recommended”

Jessica Mann, Literary Review

“A page turning read ... Webster succeeds here in creating a truly gripping tale”

Compass


Related titles