> Skip to content

The deliciously sinister new novel from the bestselling author of Unravelling Oliver and Lying in Wait.

Cordelia Waldron has been living on the Côte d'Azur for ten years, posing as an English heiress. Now her money is gone and her luck is running out.

Desperate to escape her grotty flat and grim reality, Cordelia spends a decadent night at the Negresco. But surrounded by the young, beautiful and privileged she feels her age and her poverty.

As dawn breaks she stumbles home through the back streets. Even before she opens her door she can hear the flies buzzing. It hasn't taken long for the corpse in her bedroom to commence decomposing . . .

Liz Nugent's novel is the dark, twisted and shocking story of what takes Cordelia from an island childhood in Ireland to ruin in Nice.

Formats & editions

Also by Liz Nugent

Lying In Wait
Unravelling Oliver


Night School
The Girl on the Train
The Handmaid's Tale
To Kill A Mockingbird
The Lost Symbol
A Gentleman in Moscow
The Thirst
The Black Book
The Heart's Invisible Furies
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
The Narrow Road to the Deep North
Dragonfly In Amber
The Bear and The Nightingale
Swing Time
Fifty Shades Darker
Ready Player One
The Light Between Oceans
A Long Way from Home