> Skip to content

This first children's novel by Lissa Evans is a fast-paced adventure full of magic and mystery.

Stuart Horten - ten years old and small for his age - moves to the dreary town of Beeton, far away from all his friends. And then he meets his new next-door neighbours, the unbearable Kingley triplets, and things get even worse. But in Beeton begins the strangest adventure of Stuart’s life as he is swept up in quest to find his great-uncle’s lost workshop – a workshop stuffed with trickery and magic. There are clues to follow and puzzles to solve, but what starts as fun ends up as danger, and Stuart begins to realize that he can’t finish the task by himself . . . The first children’s novel by Lissa Evans, this is a fast-moving blend of comedy and magic.


Small Stuart embarks on an awfully big adventure in this quirky puzzle-solving novel. Uprooted from London by his kindly but distracted parents, Stuart finds himself with nothing to do in his seemingly lifeless new home town. The only interest comes from the confusion caused by the identical triplets next door, and that just makes things worse. But a long-lost letter from a long-lost great uncle sets Stuart off unlocking one baffling puzzle after another. Each more curious than the one before, the far-fetched solutions they require bring the book to a hugely satisfying conclusion.

Jule Eccleshare, The Guardian

A book full of warmth, sharp humour and clever puzzles

Patrick Ness, Time Out

Perfect reading for children aged 7-10 . . . This is [Lissa Evans's] first children's novel. It ought not to be the last


A miniature version of Susanna Clarke's grown-up bestseller, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell


A miniature version of Susanna Clarke's grown-up bestseller, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell


Now one of my favourite reads of 2011 and I can't recommend it enough

Bookzone for Boys

Read More

Formats & editions

Also by Lissa Evans

UNTITLED by Lissa Evans
Crooked Heart
Big Change for Stuart
Their Finest
Their Finest Hour and a Half


Father Christmas’s Fake Beard
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons series)
Ranger's Apprentice 4: Oakleaf Bearers
Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Magisterium: The Silver Mask
Our Australian Girl: The Lina Stories
The Alchemyst
Our Australian Girl: The Rose Stories
The Beast of Hushing Wood
The Getaway: Diary of a Wimpy Kid (BK12)
Magnus Chase And The Ship Of The Dead (Book 3)
Undercover Princess
Alice-Miranda At School 1
The Polar Express
Library Of Souls
Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator