> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 July 2016
  • ISBN: 9781849394833
  • Imprint: Andersen
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 208
  • RRP: $18.99

The Factory Made Boy


Formats & editions


A new edition of this quirky classic for a new generation of readers, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl!

Mrs Bartolotti is quite used to receiving surprises in the post as she's very forgetful! But this one beats the lot - Conrad, a perfect, factory-made child who never does anything wrong. And when the men from the factory realise that the child has been delivered to the wrong address, they come to take him back. Conrad doesn't want to go. So Mrs Bartolotti comes up with a plan, and Conrad is unrecognisable . . .

  • Pub date: 15 July 2016
  • ISBN: 9781849394833
  • Imprint: Andersen
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 208
  • RRP: $18.99

About the Author

Christine Nostlinger

Christine Nostlinger is one of the most popular writers in Europe today and her books have been translated into many languages. A number of her books have been turned into films in Germany. In 1984 she won the prestigious Hans Christian Andersen Medal. She is married and has two daughters.

Also by Christine Nostlinger

See all

Praise for The Factory Made Boy

“Funny and wise.”

Nicholas Tucker, Independent, Best Books of the Year 2012

“A must-read classic . . . As funny and pertinent today as when it was first published”

Julia Eccleshare, Lovereading

“Immensely readable and satisfying”

T.L.S.

“An excellent book for reading aloud . . . immensely enjoyable”

Books for Keeps

“A truly quirky, enormously entertaining tale.”

Carousel

“This funny and touching story from Hans Christian Andersen Award winner Christine Nostlinger has stood the test of time.”

Booktrust

“Very funny . . . A surreal, unusual story that's fun to read and thought-provoking”

The Bookbag

“So funny, it will make you really laugh”

First News

“A classic story that will keep children enthralled to the very last page”

Creative Steps


Related titles