> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 October 2019
  • ISBN: 9781529100594
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $35.00

The Grace Year




A riveting speculative feminist dystopian thriller for readers of The Power, The Handmaid's Tale and The Hunger Games.

The resistance starts here...
No one speaks of the grace year.
It's forbidden.
We're told we have the power to lure grown men from their beds, make boys lose their minds, and drive the wives mad with jealousy. That's why we're banished for our sixteenth year, to release our magic into the wild before we're allowed to return to civilization.
But I don't feel powerful.
I don't feel magical.

Tierney James lives in an isolated village where girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness - and each other - for a year. They must rid themselves of their dangerous magic before returning purified and ready to marry - if they're lucky.

It is forbidden to speak of the grace year, but even so every girl knows that the coming year will change them - if they survive it...

The Grace Year is The Handmaid's Tale meets Lord of the Flies - a page-turning feminist dystopia about a young woman trapped in an oppressive society, fighting to take control of her own life.

  • Pub date: 15 October 2019
  • ISBN: 9781529100594
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $35.00

About the Author

Kim Liggett

Kim Liggett, originally from the rural Midwest in the US, moved to New York City to pursue a career in the arts. She's the author of Blood and Salt, Heart of Ash, The Last Harvest (Bram Stoker Award Winner), The Unfortunates, and The Grace Year.

Kim spends her free time studying tarot and scouring Manhattan for rare vials of perfume and the perfect egg white cocktail.

Also by Kim Liggett

See all

Praise for The Grace Year

“Part coming-of-age tale, part adventure story; this is not a cry against oppression - it's a bold, beautiful howl.”

Heat Magazine

“An incredibly important and empowering read”

Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

“A crazy mash-up of Vox, The Hunger Games, Lord Of The Flies and The Handmaid’s Tale.”

Daily Mail

“A must-read for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power”

Bustle

“Harrowing and absolutely riveting, an insidious journey from reason to madness that manages to completely refresh the concept of the patriarchal dystopia, with a beautifully realised ending.”

Melissa Albert, New York Times bestselling author of THE HAZEL WOOD

“Seethes with love and brutality, violence and hope. It is a remarkable and timely story . . . Everyone should read this book.”

Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes

“Readers’ hearts will race and break right along with the brave, capable Tierney’s. Chilling, poignant, haunting, and, unfortunately, all too timely.”

Kirkus Starred Review

“A book for every woman who has ever screamed at the top of her lungs and still felt like no one heard her. A book for every person who has ever been made to feel small or less than. A book for all of us who have been told to sit down and be silent, to grin and bear. Tierney's captivating story reminded me that sometimes existing is itself an act of bravery -- and this book's existence is an act of courage that I'm very grateful for. Brutally smart, devastatingly lyrical, and so capital i-Important, I want everyone to read this book!”

Jasmine Warga, internationally bestselling author of My Heart and Other Black Holes and Other Words for Home

“A visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and absolute page-turner . . . Equal parts horror-laden fairytale, survival story, romance and resistance manifesto. I couldn't stop reading”

Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author


Discover More

Article
When your eyes inevitably begin to glaze over on your 29th episode of Gossip Girl in almost as many hours (yes, we speak from experience), picking up a book is the perfect way to escape.

Related titles