> Skip to content

For fans of Spooks, Homeland, The Night Manager, I Am Pilgrim, and Red Sparrow comes the ultimate action-packed novel: spies, murder and one of the biggest conspiracies of our time lie at the heart of the thriller of the year.

_______________________________

THIS SHOCKING CONSPIRACY THRILLER IS A WORK OF FICTION. MOSTLY.
_______________________________

What if the President of the United States is a foreign intelligence asset?
It’s October 2016. A loud, brash businessman with a history of shady dealings and sexual misbehaviour is a serious contender to win the presidency. Even a porn star’s credible allegations don’t seem to slow him down.

But his most dangerous secrets may be hidden behind the former Iron Curtain.

Journalist Grace Elliot is dispatched to Europe, hot on the trail of a story so big it could blow up the entire election – if she can stay alive long enough to tell it:

The man who might become President was married to a Czech woman with a beguiling and contradictory past, no records, and no history – and who has all the hallmarks of a Soviet intelligence asset.

Her codename is Kingfisher.
And her mission is almost complete…

THE AUTHOR HAS CHOSEN TO REMAIN ANONYMOUS OUT OF CONCERN FOR THE SAFETY OF HIS OR HER SOURCES.

Reviews

This gulp-in-one-go conspiracy thriller… has some pretty scary parallels to recent events (in fact, it’s written anonymously because the author based the story on real information from a protected source – oo-er!)

Sunday on Sunday, Fabulous Magazine

Formats & editions

  • Trade Paperback

    9781529123739

    October 18, 2018

    Century

    384 pages

    RRP $37.00

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

  • Hardback

    9781529123722

    October 18, 2018

    Century

    384 pages

    RRP $40.00

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

  • EBook

    9781473565210

    October 16, 2018

    Cornerstone Digital

    384 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks NZ
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    • Booktopia NZ

Extract

HORKY NAD JIZEROU, CZECHOSLOVAKIA, 1978

Petr Kliment held Kristína, his six-month-old granddaughter, on a patch of grass on the shore of the Jizera River. When Elena reached for Kristína, to take her away, her father kissed the baby’s chubby cheeks and bald head and spoke into her tiny ear. Elena worried he would squeeze her too hard.

‘I cannot let her go, Elenka. She is the most beautiful, best-smelling creature on the planet.’

Elena had never before seen tears in her father’s eyes.

But the car was waiting and the men inside were impatient because their bosses in Prague were impatient.

Petr Kliment was spending more and more of his time at their country home along the river south of Mladá Boleslav.

Continue Reading