> Skip to content
Read an extract About the book
  • Published: 6 August 2019
  • ISBN: 9781780899848
  • Imprint: Century
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $37.00
Categories:

The Nanny

Can you trust her with your child?




When human remains are found in the grounds of her childhood home, Jocelyn questions not only her beloved nanny’s version of the truth, but her mother’s and even her own. A complex, twisting, emotional thriller for readers who loved THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR and THE CHILD.

The tension is simmering. The lies are piling up. Who do you trust?

'With its buried secrets, shifting allegiances, and creeping sense of dread, The Nanny pulses with tension until its shocking conclusion. I absolutely loved it!' SHARI LAPENA
___________________

Seven-year-old Jocelyn loves her nanny more than her own mother.
When her nanny disappears one night, Jo never gets over the loss.
How could she vanish without saying goodbye?
Thirty years on, Jo is forced to return to her family home and confront her troubled relationship with her mother. When human remains are discovered in the grounds of the house, Jo begins to question everything.

Then an unexpected visitor knocks at the door and Jo’s world is destroyed again as, one by one, she discovers her childhood memories aren’t what they seemed.

What secrets was her nanny hiding – and what was she running away from? And can Jo trust what her mother tells her?
Sometimes the truth hurts so much you’d rather hear the lie.
___________________
Just like Jocelyn, readers love THE NANNY:
"a gripping read with an original premise... I very much enjoyed all the characters"
"meaty and twisty ... armchair detectives will have a lot of fun with this"
"a compelling read ... I read it with a sense of fear and dread"
"Dare you get engrossed in this book? ... this is a book that should do really well"
"A spellbinding read"
"A lot of twists and turns ... it definitely grabbed my attention from the outset"
___________________
‘From the first page I wanted to know all the dark secrets this family were hiding. It’s a seriously addictive read and I never knew who to trust’ AMY LLOYD, author of THE INNOCENT WIFE and ONE MORE LIE
‘A brilliant blend of missing person drama with some seriously spooky Gothic overtones.’ GLAMOUR MAGAZINE
‘Secrets, lies, jealousy and betrayal… Elegantly structured and infused with a creeping sense of dread’ SARAH VAUGHAN

‘The plot sucked me in and the insidious build had me turning the pages rapidly’ JANE SHEMILT

The Nanny will make you doubt everyone - including yourself. Some families are built on a bedrock of lies. This one is no exception. Clever and deliciously addictive’ JANE CORRY

‘I was blown away by The Nanny. Original, twisty, unpredictable and taut with its buried secrets, the old creepy house and complex relationships. I never knew who to trust and the ending shocked me. This deserves to be huge!’ CLAIRE DOUGLAS

‘A tense, assured and atmospheric thriller which will keep you guessing from page one right through to the shocking denouement. Brilliantly absorbing’ MEL McGRATH

  • Pub date: 6 August 2019
  • ISBN: 9781780899848
  • Imprint: Century
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $37.00

About the Author

Gilly Macmillan

Gilly Macmillan is the New York Times bestselling and Edgar-nominated author of What She Knew (also published as Burnt Paper Sky), The Perfect Girl and Odd Child Out.

Gilly grew up in Swindon, Wiltshire and lived in Northern California in her late teens. She studied history and worked at The Burlington Magazine and the Hayward Gallery in London before starting a family.

Gilly has since worked as a photography teacher and she now writes full time. She lives in Bristol with her family.


Praise for The Nanny

“With its buried secrets, shifting allegiances, and creeping sense of dread, The Nanny pulses with tension until its shocking conclusion. I absolutely loved it!”

Shari Lapena

“The plot sucked me in and the insidious build had me turning the pages rapidly”

Jane Shemilt

“I was blown away by The Nanny. Original, twisty, unpredictable and taut with its buried secrets, the old creepy house and complex relationships. I never knew who to trust and the ending shocked me. This deserves to be huge!”

Claire Douglas

“A brilliant blend of missing person drama with some seriously spooky Gothic overtones.”

Glamour Magazine

“The Nanny will make you doubt everyone – including yourself. Some families are built on a bedrock of lies. This one is no exception. Clever and deliciously addictive.”

Jane Corry

“THE NANNY kept me in white-knuckled suspense until the very last page. Gilly Macmillan’s breakout thriller is a dark and twisted version of Downton Abbey gone very, very wrong.”

Tess Gerritsen

“‘A tense, assured and atmospheric thriller which will keep you guessing from page one right through to the shocking denouement. Brilliantly absorbing’”

Mel McGrath

“Exploding with secrets, The Nanny by master storyteller Gilly Macmillan has everything you dream for in a thriller: expertly drawn and complex characters, a terrifying premise and the best villain I’ve encountered on the page in a long time. Told through multiple perspectives, Macmillan skillfully reveals long dormant family secrets in this atmospheric stunner. Be sure to catch up on your sleep before picking up The Nanny, you won’t be able to rest until the final, spine-tingling conclusion.”

Heather Gudenkauf

“Gilly Macmillan is a master of creating tension so exquisitely unbearable I had to force myself not to skip ahead. Brilliant, gripping, and terrifying.”

Liv Constantine

“From the first page I wanted to know all the dark secrets this family were hiding. It’s a seriously addictive read and I never knew who to trust”

Amy Lloyd


Related titles