> Skip to content
Read an extract About the book
  • Published: 5 November 2019
  • ISBN: 9781910701461
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $38.00

The Starless Sea




The magical new novel from the bestselling author of The Night Circus

The magical new novel from the bestselling author of The Night Circus.
Are you lost or are you exploring?

When Zachary Rawlins stumbles across a strange book hidden in his university library it leads him on a quest unlike any other. Its pages entrance him with their tales of lovelorn prisoners, lost cities and nameless acolytes, but they also contain something impossible: a recollection from his own childhood.

Determined to solve the puzzle of the book, Zachary follows the clues he finds on the cover – a bee, a key and a sword. They guide him to a masquerade ball, to a dangerous secret club, and finally through a magical doorway created by the fierce and mysterious Mirabel. This door leads to a subterranean labyrinth filled with stories, hidden far beneath the surface of the earth.

When the labyrinth is threatened, Zachary must race with Mirabel, and Dorian, a handsome barefoot man with shifting alliances, through its twisting tunnels and crowded ballrooms, searching for the end of his story.

You are invited to join Zachary on the starless sea: the home of storytellers, story-lovers and those who will protect our stories at all costs.

  • Pub date: 5 November 2019
  • ISBN: 9781910701461
  • Imprint: Harvill Secker
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $38.00

About the Author

Erin Morgenstern

Erin Morgenstern is the author of The Night Circus, a bestseller that has been sold around the world and translated into thirty-seven languages. She has a degree in Theatre from Smith College, an ever-growing collection of jewellery made from skeleton keys, and a cat on her lap. She lives in Massachusetts.


www.erinmorgenstern.com

Also by Erin Morgenstern

See all

Praise for The Starless Sea

“A puzzlebox of a book, full of meta-narratives and small folkloric tales that will delight readers. [Morgenstern] trusts her readers to follow along and speculate, wonder, and make leaps themselves as she dives into tales of pirates, book burnings, and men lost in time, giving the book a mythic quality that will stick with readers long after they put it down.”

*Booklist

“A magnificent quest, a sense of unfolding adventure and danger, gold-wrought fantasy, and endless provocation on what storytelling really means.”

*Library Journal

“A high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories... exquisitely pleasurable.. a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call. An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.”

STARRED Kirkus Review


Discover More

Article
Here’s everything you need to know about The Starless Sea, the spellbinding new novel from Erin Morgenstern.

Related titles