> Skip to content

A brief guide to the gripping novels in Gregg Hurwitz’s Orphan X series.

Evan Smoak is a man with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. He’s also a man with a dangerous past. Taken from a group home at 12, Evan was raised and trained as part of the Orphan Program, an off-the-books operation designed to create deniable intelligence assets – aka assassins. Evan was Orphan X. He broke with the Program, using everything he learned to disappear and reinvent himself as the Nowhere Man. It’s said that when he’s reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them.

Here is a rundown of Gregg Hurwitz’s novels in the Orphan X series to date.

Orphan X (2016)
It all started in 2016, with a novel Tess Gerritsen labelled, ‘The most gripping thriller I've read in a long, long time!’

Do you need my help? It was the first question he asked. They called him when they had nowhere else to turn. But someone’s on his trail. Someone who knows his past and believes that the boy once known as Orphan X must die… 

The Nowhere Man (2017)
Ambushed, drugged, and spirited away, Evan wakes up in a locked room with no idea where he is or who has captured him. As he tries to piece together what's happened, testing his gilded prison and its highly trained guards for weaknesses, he receives a desperate call for help.

Hellbent (2018)
Despite all the dangerous skills he instilled in Evan during his years in a top-secret government program, Jack Jones cared for him like a son. Now, Jack knows too much about the program to be left unchecked – he’s a loose end that needs to be dealt with. But if you go after the only person who ever treated Evan like a human being, you can guarantee Nowhere Man will be coming right back at you. Hellbent on making things right.

Out of the Dark (2019)
The man responsible for the Orphan Program needs all evidence destroyed. That includes Evan. To survive, Evan’s going to have to take the fight to his nemesis. There’s just one problem with that. Jonathan Bennett is President of the United States and Evan isn’t his only victim. To save himself – and the country – he is going to have to figure out how to kill the most well-protected man on the planet.

More Book Lists

Penguin Black Classics

Explore hundreds of the world's finest works of literature, all in one place.

Orphan X

First he was Orphan X, others knew him as The Nowhere Man.

Vintage Minis

Great minds, big ideas, little books.

Harry Hole

Get on the case with Oslo's finest, renegade police inspector Harry Hole.

Penguin Worlds

Once gripped by these terrifying Penguin Worlds titles, there’s no turning back.