> Skip to content

Amelia has a secret power. A power that nobody else knows about. When she is furious or frightened, she can change colour.

Amelia's eighth birthday is just around the corner and she is SO excited. She's going to have the best party ever – even if she does have to invite her troublesome twin cousins. But then something strange and magical happens . . Now Amelia has a very big secret.

Will Amelia be able to keep her chameleon powers hidden, even when disaster strikes and the party bags go missing?

Reviews

It’s a lovely fresh story filled with unexpected surprises, and it’s sure to be adored by junior readers. It’s also a great book for readers just starting out, with illustrations by Alyssa Bermudez dotted throughout and large text that’s easy to read. Fun and fresh, this is the start of a fantastic and magical series.

Kids' Book Review

Filled with cute illustrations, a vibrant plot and colourful characters, your little readers will be enamoured of Amelia’s keen sense of justice and charm. Most suited to 5+ readers who love Billie B Brown and Hey Jack.

Better Reading

This is the first in a new series for newly independent readers, particularly girls, who are looking for something that focuses on familiar events but which has a special twist in the tale. Short chapters, a larger font and plentiful illustrations support the reader in consolidating their skills while offering a well-written story that engages and entertains.

Barbara Braxton, The Bottom Shelf Blog

The book is perfectly aimed at the interests of an eight-year-old reader, and Amelia is a likeable character so no doubt readers who enjoy this book will be keen to see how she deals with her new magical powers in further books.

Rachel Le Rossignol, CBCA Reading Time

. . . a delightful story, perfectly suited to the intended audience of young girls.

Beauty and Lace Book Club

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780143791669

    January 8, 2019

    Puffin

    96 pages

    RRP $12.99

    Online retailers

    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • Fishpond
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.co.nz

  • EBook

    9780143791676

    January 8, 2019

    Penguin eBooks

    96 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle NZ
    • iBooks NZ
    • Google Play EBook NZ
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia NZ

Also by Laura Sieveking