> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 8 January 2019
  • ISBN: 9780143791669
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 96
  • RRP: $12.99

Amelia Chamelia and the Birthday Party

Amelia Chamelia 1




Amelia has a secret power. A power that nobody else knows about. When she is furious or frightened, she can change colour.

Amelia's eighth birthday is just around the corner and she is SO excited. She's going to have the best party ever – even if she does have to invite her troublesome twin cousins. But then something strange and magical happens . . Now Amelia has a very big secret.

Will Amelia be able to keep her chameleon powers hidden, even when disaster strikes and the party bags go missing?

  • Pub date: 8 January 2019
  • ISBN: 9780143791669
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 96
  • RRP: $12.99

About the Authors

Laura Sieveking

Ever since she learnt to hold a pen, Laura Sieveking has loved creating stories. She remembers hiding in her room as a six-year-old, writing a series of books about an unlikely friendship between a princess and a bear.

As an adult, Laura has spent the vast majority of her career working in publishing as an editor. After several years, she decided to put down her red pen and open up her laptop to create books of her own.

Laura’s books revolve around all the things she loved as a child – friendships, sport and a little bit of magic. Her series include The Royal Academy of Sport for Girls and Amelia Chamelia.

Laura lives in Sydney with her husband and two children.

Alyssa Bermudez

Alyssa is a born and bred New Yorker living in Tasmania. She studied illustration and animation at the Fashion Institute of Technology for undergraduate and graduate courses. As an illustrator and art teacher for students aged 5-75+, Alyssa strives to put the KA-POW into stories and learning. Her illustrations can be found in magazines and books including the Lucia The Luchadora series and fabulous Amelia Chamelia series. Alyssa currently resides in stunning Hobart where adventures await each day.


Praise for Amelia Chamelia and the Birthday Party

“It’s a lovely fresh story filled with unexpected surprises, and it’s sure to be adored by junior readers. It’s also a great book for readers just starting out, with illustrations by Alyssa Bermudez dotted throughout and large text that’s easy to read. Fun and fresh, this is the start of a fantastic and magical series.”

Kids' Book Review

“Filled with cute illustrations, a vibrant plot and colourful characters, your little readers will be enamoured of Amelia’s keen sense of justice and charm. Most suited to 5+ readers who love Billie B Brown and Hey Jack.”

Better Reading

“This is the first in a new series for newly independent readers, particularly girls, who are looking for something that focuses on familiar events but which has a special twist in the tale. Short chapters, a larger font and plentiful illustrations support the reader in consolidating their skills while offering a well-written story that engages and entertains.”

Barbara Braxton, The Bottom Shelf Blog

“The book is perfectly aimed at the interests of an eight-year-old reader, and Amelia is a likeable character so no doubt readers who enjoy this book will be keen to see how she deals with her new magical powers in further books.”

Rachel Le Rossignol, CBCA Reading Time

“. . . a delightful story, perfectly suited to the intended audience of young girls.”

Beauty and Lace Book Club


Related titles