> Skip to content

Project Hail Mary

The thrilling and hilarious third title from the bestselling author of The Martian: The only surviving astronaut on a space ship must find a way to save the planet before it's too late.

Find out more

From the Centre

The remarkable memoirs of a remarkable writer.

Start reading

Great Circle

For fans of The Goldfinch, All the Light We Cannot See and The Girls, this monumentally powerful epic weaves together the astonishing lives of a daredevil female aviator, and the Hollywood rebel who will play her on screen.

Find out more

Faking It

Candid, funny and emotionally powerful, this is writer Kyle Mewburn's true story of growing up transgender.

Start reading

Violet Black

Set in the near future, this first book in a fast-paced trilogy will hook you in from the first page.

Start reading

My Elephant Is Blue

A sweet and quirky story about a child who is stuck carrying around an elephant, wondering if they will ever feel light and free again . . .

Find out more

Brand new recipes

Recipe
Vegan sticky date pudding with coconut butterscotch sauce

This sticky date pudding is one of my favourite things to make during the colder months. What makes this dessert really special is the hint of ginger and cardamom in the coconut butterscotch sauce. I bet you can’t wait to grab your spoon and dig in! Just remember to get your dates on to soak a bit beforehand. If you don’t need this to be vegan, you can use regular milk, cream and butter.

Recipe
Slow-cooked balsamic beef cheeks

Braised in a beautiful balsamic sauce, these slow-cooked beef cheeks are so meltingly tender you could devour them with a spoon! Eight hours of cooking ensures that the braising liquid turns into a luscious, gravy-like sauce. I encourage you to enjoy it spooned over creamy potato mash or fluffy cooked grains such as quinoa or bulgur wheat.

Recipe
French tomato tart

I created my first version of this tart when I was living in France with Douglas for a couple of months, relishing the crispy pastry, creamy cheese, juicy flavourful tomatoes, fresh herbs and spicy cracked pepper. Back then I used a lovely soft salty white French cheese riddled with herbs and garlic. Naturally, I’ve created a new version of this, and it’s still amazingly good.

Recipe
Lasagne soup with cheesy garlic melts

This hearty soup is a proper hug in a mug. The ricotta and Parmesan topping really fulfills the 'lasagne' promise, but if you don’t want to bother you can just top it with grated cheese and it’ll still be a winner. The super-cheesy garlicky toasties are a good addition to any tomatoey soup — or just eat them on their own!

Recipe
Fudge cake slice

This recipe has been a fan favourite for over a decade. Cut it into slices for the kids or into tiny squares as a treat with your cuppa. It also freezes well, so you can stash a few squares away for when no one is looking.

Recipe
Chicken in a pot with lemon and orzo

This is not exactly the same as perhaps the most precious recipe in my repertoire, My Mother’s Praised Chicken, which found a home in my eighth book, Kitchen, but it owes a lot to it. A family favourite, it’s a simple one-pot dish which brings comfort and joy, and it is my pleasure to share that with you.

Recipe
Chocolate, tahini banana bread

I have been making a banana bread with chocolate and tahini on repeat for a while now, and every time I’ve eaten it over the last year or so, I couldn’t help thinking that the particular combination of intense chocolatiness, sweet, texture-softening banana and the rich earthiness of tahini would make the perfect warm pudding.

Recipe
Snausage Rolls

Sausage rolls will always be über-cool, no matter what anyone says. They're always the first to be nabbed at morning tea, classily dressed-up with a generous splurt of store-bought tomato sauce... crispy, juicy little taste bombs. 

Recipe
My kinda butter chicken

With fragrant spices, tomatoes, cashew butter and yoghurt.

Features

Q&A
Maggie Shipstead Q&A

The Great Circle author on inspiring travel, research and spending seven years on her latest novel.

Article
Good Books about Tough Topics

Figuring out how to talk to children about difficult emotions can sometimes feel impossible. Books can offer a good gateway to starting these conversations. Here are some books that might help you to navigate those tricky topics.

Article
The Unsolved Mysteries that Inspired House of Hollow

Author Krystal Sutherland shares her favourite stories.

Article
The eight Plant Proof principles

Set yourself up for good health with a whole-food plant-based diet.

Q&A
First Person Singular cover design Q&A

Vintage Creative Director Suzanne Dean and artist Lena Peters on circles, Murakami and monkeys.

Activities

Activity
How To Grow a Unicorn: colouring sheet

Sarah thinks she's discovered the perfect gift for her garden-loving grandma, but before you can say GARDEN FULL OF UNICORNS, things grow wildly out-of-hand! Download our colouring sheet to colour in your own magical unicorn.

Activity
The Very Hungry Caterpillar's Wild Animal Hide and Seek activity pack

Cut out wild animals to play hide and seek around the house!

Activity
Mr Men 50th Anniversary Party Pack

Celebrate 50 years of the wonderful world of Mr Men and Little Miss with this fun party pack

Activity
Little Kiwi colouring sheet

There's a brand new Little Kiwi book out! And to mark the occasion, Bob Darroch, the legendary creator of our favourite feathery friend, drew this colouring-in sheet for us.

Activity
Bluey Easter activity pack

Celebrate Easter with this free printable download.

Activity
Showtym Adventures activity pack

Calling all fans of the Showtym Adventures series! We've put together this awesome activity pack just for you.

Activity
Bluey colouring sheet!

Dive into Bluey: The Pool this summer and download this colouring-in sheet!

Activity
Back to school with Peppa activity sheets!

Get little ones prepped for school with these printable activity sheets. Learn to count, write first words, and finish off with a fun dot-to-dot. 

Activity
The Witches Activity Pack

Beware, the Witches are here. And we have the perfect activity pack to keep you prepared.

Activity
30 days of gratitude from My Journey Starts Here

Practising gratitude is scientifically proven to make you happier. Use the prompts in this download to help you fill out the table of all the things you are grateful for. 

Activity
Make your own Wimpy Kid mask!

Are you more of a Greg or a Rowley? Take your pick then DIY your Wimpy Kid costume with these printable masks. 

Activity
Amazing Aotearoa Competition

Be in to win the full set of Gavin Bishop's Aotearoa books!

Activity
LEGO Halloween Ideas activity pack

Test your creativity and brush up your building skills in this Halloween-themed LEGO activity pack.

Activity
Downloadable Aroha email signatures

Each week on our Facebook page we've been sharing a whakataukī from Aroha by Dr Hinemoa Elder. Now you can download them to share or use as email signatures! 

Activity
Hairy Maclary birthday party pack

You can even download everything you need to throw your own frolicking Hairy Maclary birthday party!

Activity
Amazing Aotearoa activity pack

We've put together this activity pack so you can take a sneak peek and try out a couple of the activities. Use your hunting skills in Wordfind Warrior, crack the Land Loss Labyrinth code and get creative thinking about what your Atua would be as a supernatural being!

Activity
Little Hector's Beach Clean Up Pack!

Organising a beach clean-up is a great way to help keep Little Hector's (and Mini Maui's) home safe. Download our beach clean-up pack to organise your own community clean-up event!

Activity
Roald Dahl Story Day 2020 party pack

Lots of wondrous ideas for how to celebrate at home or in the classroom.

Activity
Father's Day activities

Download this Father's Day activity pack complete with colouring in, a DIY card and a fill-in-the-blanks to show what kids of all ages love about their dad.

Activity
Maori Made Fun crossword: kupu rongonui (well-known words)

For this crossword, you simply need to translate the given word. Don’t forget, though: to enhance your learning, take some time to learn the meanings of the words in English and commit them to memory once you have completed each crossword. 

Activity
Print and colour your own Father’s Day cards

Celebrate dads and father figures everywhere with these make-at-home cards and poster, from their most FANTASTIC moments to their most magnificent WHIZZPOPS!

Activity
Hound the Detective: Spot the difference

Help Hound solve the case! 

Activity
Hound the Detective printable notebook

Download and print this handy notebook and tick off the items on the list as you make your way through Hound the Detective! 

Activity
Awesome Friendly activity pack

Everything you need to celebrate the new Jeff Kinney release.

Audiobooks from New Zealand

See all
Maori Made Easy

Fun, user-friendly and relevant to modern readers, Scotty Morrison's Maori Made Easy is the one-stop resource for anyone wanting to learn the basics of the Maori language.

Read more
Stop Surviving Start Fighting

A hard-hitting, thought-provoking account of surviving suicide attempts and moving on to a better life, which provides practical help and inspiration to anyone affected by depression or suicide.

Read more
Hairy Maclary Treasury

The Hairy Maclary Treasury is the complete collection of Hairy Maclary's mischievous and mad adventures, which children will love to read and listen to over and over.

Read more
The Penguin History of New Zealand

This bestselling book, the triumphant fruit of careful research, wide reading and judicious assessment, is the unchallenged contemporary reference on the history of New Zealand.

Read more
The Misadventures of Polly Gillespie

Reports from the battlefield of a riotous life, from one of NZ's best-known radio personalities.

Read more
Aroha

The timeless wisdom of Maori proverbs - 52 traditional Maori sayings explained by respected Maori psychiatrist Dr Hinemoa Elder, showing us how we can live better lives, in harmony with the planet.

Read more
Tales from a Financial Hot Mess

The realest guide to money ... and how to have more of it.

Read more
The Resilient Farmer

The story of how one man weathered years of drought and desperation to turn his farm - and his life - around.

Read more