> Skip to content

Books to make 2022 great

Filled with inspiration, motivation and guidance, these books will help you get 2022 off to a great start!

Find out more

This Changes Everything

The must-have guide to perimenopause and menopause for every woman: What's happening, what you can do, and what really works.

Find out more

Your Money, Your Future

A real-life handbook to finding financial freedom on any income, from the creator of New Zealand’s leading finance podcast Cooking the Books and author of Tales from a Financial Hot Mess.

Start reading

Wahala

Fabulous debut novel: a multi-cultural 'Sex and the City' with a killer edge: for fans of EXPECTATION, QUEENIE and MY SISTER THE SERIAL KILLER

Start reading

Brand new recipes

Recipe
Roasted nectarines and beetroot with watercress and burrata

Sweet beetroot, perfumed nectarine, peppery watercress and creamy burrata — don’t take this to your next BYO barbecue or people will fight over it. Save it for home instead.

Recipe
Vietnamese poached chicken salad with mint & coriander

What appeals to me about this salad is the combination of lightly poached chicken, bean sprouts, spring onions and herbs with roasted chopped nuts and sesame seeds, and the slightly gloopy fish sauce, lime juice and chilli dressing.

Recipe
Confit tandoori chickpeas

These chickpeas have had their fair share of Insta fame for a multitude of reasons.

Recipe
Spiced saffron rice

Enjoy this aromatic Arabian rice as a side dish for a delicious dinner.

Recipe
Tangerine dream cake

A pleasure to make, this cake is joyous served with a cup of tea.

Features

Article
Dear reader: A letter from Brené Brown

The bestselling author of Gifts of Imperfection and Dare to Lead on the vastness of human emotion.

Article
Real readers review: You'll Be The Death of Me

What do NZ YA fans really think of Karen McManus' latest book?

Article
Puffin Summer Book Bingo

Turn reading over the summer into a game! Download and print off our book bingo sheet for inventive ways to enjoy a story and try different genres. Read under a tree; read a non-fiction book, visit a library; are you up to the challenge?

Article
5 books to take to the beach this summer!

Summer is a great time to catch up on prizewinners from the previous 12 months, return to old favourites or for a bit of personal development. Here are our top five suggestions.

Activities

Activity
Which timeless Kiwi yarn should you read next?

Use our handy flowchart to help you decide which NZ classic you should add to your young reader's to-be-read pile.

Activity
It's a Bluey Christmas colouring page

Happy holidays from Bluey, Bingo, Bandit and Chilli Heeler.

Activity
Bluey's Summer Explorer activity pack

Let's go camping with the Heelers!

Activity
Activity
Grandude's Green Submarine: Colouring sheets

Colour in your own submarine with these fun sheets featuring illustrations from Paul McCartney's new book Grandude's Green Submarine. Plus, if you've got a special grandparent in your life, print off and give them one of our Grandude or Nandude-inspired cards!

Activity
Which Harding-Pencroft House do you belong to?

Take the aptitude test to find out!

Activity
Everything Under The Sun Fun

A curious question for every day of the year.

Activity
Roald Dahl Story Day 2021 party pack

Download activities for school and home.

Activity
Ten Minutes to Bed Activity Sheets

Little ones can colour in their favourite characters from the hit Ten Minutes to Bed series with this set of activity sheets. Plus, there are some fun mazes to solve.

Activity
Design a collar for Mittens

Design a collar fit for Wellington's most famous cat.

Activity
Sports Heroes activity pack

How do little kids become sporting superstars? Find out in this inspiring activity pack featuring three Olympic legends.

Activity
Outdoor Maker Lab water rocket activity pack

Step outside and discover the science that surrounds you

Activity
How To Grow a Unicorn: colouring sheet

Sarah thinks she's discovered the perfect gift for her garden-loving grandma, but before you can say GARDEN FULL OF UNICORNS, things grow wildly out-of-hand! Download our colouring sheet to colour in your own magical unicorn.

Activity
The Very Hungry Caterpillar's Wild Animal Hide and Seek activity pack

Cut out wild animals to play hide and seek around the house!

Activity
Mr Men 50th Anniversary Party Pack

Celebrate 50 years of the wonderful world of Mr Men and Little Miss with this fun party pack

Activity
Little Kiwi colouring sheet

There's a brand new Little Kiwi book out! And to mark the occasion, Bob Darroch, the legendary creator of our favourite feathery friend, drew this colouring-in sheet for us.

Activity
Bluey Easter activity pack

Celebrate Easter with this free printable download.

Activity
Showtym Adventures activity pack

Calling all fans of the Showtym Adventures series! We've put together this awesome activity pack just for you.

Activity
Bluey colouring sheet!

Dive into Bluey: The Pool this summer and download this colouring-in sheet!

Activity
Back to school with Peppa activity sheets!

Get little ones prepped for school with these printable activity sheets. Learn to count, write first words, and finish off with a fun dot-to-dot. 

Activity
The Witches Activity Pack

Beware, the Witches are here. And we have the perfect activity pack to keep you prepared.

Activity
30 days of gratitude from My Journey Starts Here

Practising gratitude is scientifically proven to make you happier. Use the prompts in this download to help you fill out the table of all the things you are grateful for. 

Activity
Make your own Wimpy Kid mask!

Are you more of a Greg or a Rowley? Take your pick then DIY your Wimpy Kid costume with these printable masks. 

Activity
Amazing Aotearoa Competition

Be in to win the full set of Gavin Bishop's Aotearoa books!

Audiobooks from New Zealand

See all
A Māori Phrase a Day

A modern, user-friendly phrasebook for all New Zealanders.

Read more
Your Money, Your Future

A real-life handbook to finding financial freedom on any income, from the creator of New Zealand’s leading finance podcast Cooking the Books and author of Tales from a Financial Hot Mess.

Read more
This Changes Everything

The must-have guide to perimenopause and menopause for every woman: What's happening, what you can do, and what really works.

Read more
She Is Not Your Rehab

Cycles repeat until one person has the courage to say, ‘This stops with me.’

Read more
Maori Made Easy

Fun, user-friendly and relevant to modern readers, Scotty Morrison's Maori Made Easy is the one-stop resource for anyone wanting to learn the basics of the Maori language.

Read more
Aroha

The top-selling New Zealand non-fiction title of 2021! The timeless wisdom of Maori proverbs - 52 traditional Maori sayings explained by respected Maori psychiatrist Dr Hinemoa Elder, showing us how we can live better lives, in harmony with the planet.

Read more
The Mirror Book

Growing up behind the family façade.

Read more
Tales from a Financial Hot Mess

The realest guide to money ... and how to have more of it.

Read more
Stop Surviving Start Fighting

A hard-hitting, thought-provoking account of surviving suicide attempts and moving on to a better life, which provides practical help and inspiration to anyone affected by depression or suicide.

Read more
The Misadventures of Polly Gillespie

Reports from the battlefield of a riotous life, from one of NZ's best-known radio personalities.

Read more
Hairy Maclary Treasury

The Hairy Maclary Treasury is the complete collection of Hairy Maclary's mischievous and mad adventures, which children will love to read and listen to over and over.

Read more
The Resilient Farmer

The story of how one man weathered years of drought and desperation to turn his farm - and his life - around.

Read more
The Penguin History of New Zealand

This bestselling book, the triumphant fruit of careful research, wide reading and judicious assessment, is the unchallenged contemporary reference on the history of New Zealand.

Read more