> Skip to content

Popular Historical Fiction books (2073)

  • The runaway international bestseller Lilac Girls introduced the real-life heroine Caroline Ferriday. Now Lost Roses, set a generation earlier and also inspired by true events, features Caroline’s mother, Eliza, and follows three equally indomitable women from St Petersburg to Paris under the shadow of World War I.

  • Bestselling author RK Khoury explores some of the biggest political questions of our time in a propulsive thriller set in a Europe ruled by the Ottoman Empire.

  • Our foremost storyteller returns with an audacious new novel, Machines Like Me.

  • Moving through America’s history and its landscape, this is a wondrous, exhilarating novel about nine strangers brought together by an unfolding natural catastrophe.

  • The enthralling new novel from the ten-million-copy, Number One bestselling author.

  • Based on one of history's most epic stories of adventure, Conn Iggulden's latest bestseller pits Persians against Spartans in a legendary battle.

  • A thrilling literary suspense novel from the multi-award-winning crime writer

  • This New York Times bestseller tells the remarkable story of three very different women brought together by the infamous Ravensbruck concentration camp. Will appeal to readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and All the Light We Cannot See.

  • 'The Parisian is a sublime reading experience: delicate, restrained, surpassingly intelligent, uncommonly poised and truly beautiful. It is realism in the tradition of Flaubert and Stendhal - everything that happens feels not so much imagined as ordained. That this remarkable historical epic should be the debut of a writer in her twenties seems impossible, yet it's true. Isabella Hammad is an enormous talent and her book is a wonder.' - Zadie Smith

  • A captivating novel based on the story of the extraordinary real-life American woman who secretly worked for the French Resistance during World War II-while playing hostess to the invading Germans at the iconic Hôtel Ritz in Paris-from the New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator's Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue.

  • A mesmerising new novel from the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The English Patient.

  • Soon to be a major film from the creators of Downton Abbey - the unputdownable story of two young women in 1920s New York.

  • A spectacular, genre-redefining literary fantasy novel from the Man Booker Prize-winning author of A Brief History of Seven Killings.

  • The thrilling new blockbuster by the bestselling author of The Tea Gardens.

  • ONE FALSE MOVE is classic Goddard, a twisting mystery that quickly becomes a heart-stopping thriller...

  • The greatest war story in literature, retold by our greatest living storyteller on war - in the voice of the forgotten woman who lived through it.

  • A little book containing so much: a novella, history, eyewitness reports, Maori translation, verse and images.

  • A chilling Dickensian ghost story by one of Ireland's finest writers.

  • Set in rural Queensland in 1929, An Uncommon Woman is the captivating story of a very modern woman who refuses to be held down by the conventions of the past . . .

  • A page-turning and bittersweet novel following Daniel and his troubled marriage with Rosie, and the very different lives of her three sisters, as they navigate the period between the First and Second World Wars.

  • A long-awaited, spellbinding new novel from the author of bestselling The Thirteenth Tale - 'a mistress of the craft of storytelling' (Guardian).

Browse more