> Skip to content

Popular Historical Fiction books (2072)

  • A thrilling literary suspense novel from the multi-award-winning crime writer

  • Moving through America’s history and its landscape, this is a wondrous, exhilarating novel about nine strangers brought together by an unfolding natural catastrophe.

  • This New York Times bestseller tells the remarkable story of three very different women brought together by the infamous Ravensbruck concentration camp. Will appeal to readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and All the Light We Cannot See.

  • The runaway international bestseller Lilac Girls introduced the real-life heroine Caroline Ferriday. Now Lost Roses, set a generation earlier and also inspired by true events, features Caroline’s mother, Eliza, and follows three equally indomitable women from St Petersburg to Paris under the shadow of World War I.

  • Sold in twenty-five countries and poised to become a global literary sensation, Lara Prescott's dazzling first novel about the women in the CIA's typing pool and the fate of Boris Pasternak's banned masterpiece is a sweeping page turner and the most hotly anticipated debut of the year.

  • The poets and soldiers Siegfried Sassoon and Wilfred Owen are dispatched to Craiglockhart War Hospital in Scotland in 1917. There, army psychiatrist William Rivers is treating brutalised, shell-shocked men.

  • Our foremost storyteller returns with an audacious new novel, Machines Like Me.

  • A fascinating novel of the friendship and creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female legends—screenwriter Frances Marion and superstar Mary Pickford—from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife

  • From the internationally bestselling author of Into the Wilderness comes a magnificent epic about two pioneering women doctors in 19th-century New York.

  • The thrilling new blockbuster by the bestselling author of The Tea Gardens.

  • A chilling Dickensian ghost story by one of Ireland's finest writers.

  • The Vintage paperback of Hermione Lee’s celebrated biography of Edith Wharton is published to tie-in with the publication of the Vintage Classics edition of The Age of Innocence

  • The greatest war story in literature, retold by our greatest living storyteller on war - in the voice of the forgotten woman who lived through it.

  • Set in rural Queensland in 1929, An Uncommon Woman is the captivating story of a very modern woman who refuses to be held down by the conventions of the past . . .

  • Not since Patrick Suskind's Perfumehas a work of fiction so vividly evoked a time, a place, and a passion . . .

  • THE FOURTEENTH CLIFFEHAVEN NOVEL BY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR ELLIE DEAN

  • First with your head and then with your heart . . .

  • THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE BESTSELLING OUTLANDER SERIES.

  • Captain Sam Wyndham and his side-kick Surrender-not Banerjee return in this prize-winning historical crime series set in 1920s Calcutta, India.

  • A stunning gift package of prize-winning Beloved to commemorate Toni Morrison.

  • The highly anticipated, sensuous new blockbuster by the beloved, bestselling author of The Perfumer's Secret.

  • A new spy thriller set over the four days of the 1938 Munich Conference, as the world waits for war, from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Fatherland, Conclave and An Officer and a Spy.

  • From one of our finest chroniclers of Japan, its history, society and culture - the acclaimed author of Geisha - comes this gripping and richly detailed new historical novel, telling the true story of Princess Atsu and her struggle to save Japan.

  • Simon Mayo delivers the best of reading group fiction. A robust historical novel with a beating heart, MAD BLOOD STIRRING shines new light on one of life’s oldest truths; sometimes, in our darkest hour, it can be the most unlikely of things that see us through.

Browse more