> Skip to content

Popular Historical Fiction books (2073)

  • The runaway international bestseller Lilac Girls introduced the real-life heroine Caroline Ferriday. Now Lost Roses, set a generation earlier and also inspired by true events, features Caroline’s mother, Eliza, and follows three equally indomitable women from St Petersburg to Paris under the shadow of World War I.

  • This New York Times bestseller tells the remarkable story of three very different women brought together by the infamous Ravensbruck concentration camp. Will appeal to readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and All the Light We Cannot See.

  • Nicole Alexander’s ninth novel is a sweeping rural historical novel, set in South Australia and the Northern Territory.

  • A thrilling literary suspense novel from the multi-award-winning crime writer

  • Kurt Austin discovers a secret underwater mine in the latest NUMA Files adventure from the international No.1 bestseller Clive Cussler.

  • ONE FALSE MOVE is classic Goddard, a twisting mystery that quickly becomes a heart-stopping thriller...

  • The thrilling new blockbuster by the bestselling author of The Tea Gardens.

  • The international bestselling blockbuster to rival Birdsong and Atonement.

  • Our foremost storyteller returns with an audacious new novel, Machines Like Me.

  • The enthralling new novel from the ten-million-copy, Number One bestselling author.

  • The greatest war story in literature, retold by our greatest living storyteller on war - in the voice of the forgotten woman who lived through it.

  • A spectacular, genre-redefining literary fantasy novel from the Man Booker Prize-winning author of A Brief History of Seven Killings.

  • Set in rural Queensland in 1929, An Uncommon Woman is the captivating story of a very modern woman who refuses to be held down by the conventions of the past . . .

  • A mesmerising new novel from the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The English Patient.

  • THE FOURTEENTH CLIFFEHAVEN NOVEL BY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR ELLIE DEAN

  • The second instalment in a brand-new dark fantasy series from the country's most daring historical novelist.

  • ONE OF FIVE NEW VINTAGE FUTURE CLASSICS READING GUIDE EDITIONS

  • The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six . . .

  • Captain Sam Wyndham and his side-kick Surrender-not Banerjee return in this prize-winning historical crime series set in 1920s Calcutta, India.

  • A new spy thriller set over the four days of the 1938 Munich Conference, as the world waits for war, from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Fatherland, Conclave and An Officer and a Spy.

  • From one of our finest chroniclers of Japan, its history, society and culture - the acclaimed author of Geisha - comes this gripping and richly detailed new historical novel, telling the true story of Princess Atsu and her struggle to save Japan.

  • Simon Mayo delivers the best of reading group fiction. A robust historical novel with a beating heart, MAD BLOOD STIRRING shines new light on one of life’s oldest truths; sometimes, in our darkest hour, it can be the most unlikely of things that see us through.

Browse more