> Skip to content

Popular Historical Fiction books (2072)

  • A thrilling literary suspense novel from the multi-award-winning crime writer

  • The runaway international bestseller Lilac Girls introduced the real-life heroine Caroline Ferriday. Now Lost Roses, set a generation earlier and also inspired by true events, features Caroline’s mother, Eliza, and follows three equally indomitable women from St Petersburg to Paris under the shadow of World War I.

  • The thrilling new blockbuster by the bestselling author of The Tea Gardens.

  • The poets and soldiers Siegfried Sassoon and Wilfred Owen are dispatched to Craiglockhart War Hospital in Scotland in 1917. There, army psychiatrist William Rivers is treating brutalised, shell-shocked men.

  • The historical adult debut novel by # 1 New York Times bestselling author Lauren Kate, The Orphan’s Song is a sweeping love story about family and music—and the secrets each hold—that follows the intertwined fates of two Venetian orphans.

  • A fascinating novel of the friendship and creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female legends—screenwriter Frances Marion and superstar Mary Pickford—from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife

  • A little book containing so much: a novella, history, eyewitness reports, Maori translation, verse and images.

  • Here is one of those rare novels, so captivatingly original, so absurdly funny, surprising and moving, that it crosses all boundaries.

  • An enthralling novel of the life and loves of one of history’s most remarkable women: Winston Churchill’s scandalous American mother, Jennie Jerome.

  • It is 1938 and headstrong eighteen-year-old Mari Carrera leaves a gossipy small town in rural New Zealand aboard the SS Rimutaka. Rather too careless with her reputation, Mari is bound for the bustling anonymity of London – but she is all too willing to be seduced by the temptations of the glittering West End.

  • A heartbreaking story about the pursuit of passion by the bestselling author of The Chocolate Tin.

  • Set in rural Queensland in 1929, An Uncommon Woman is the captivating story of a very modern woman who refuses to be held down by the conventions of the past . . .

  • Not since Patrick Suskind's Perfumehas a work of fiction so vividly evoked a time, a place, and a passion . . .

  • First with your head and then with your heart . . .

  • It was the longest of nights, when the strangest of things happened... the spell-binding novel from best-selling author Diane Setterfield will captivate readers in its multi-layered mystery.

  • Captain Sam Wyndham and his side-kick Surrender-not Banerjee return in this prize-winning historical crime series set in 1920s Calcutta, India.

  • A new spy thriller set over the four days of the 1938 Munich Conference, as the world waits for war, from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Fatherland, Conclave and An Officer and a Spy.

  • From one of our finest chroniclers of Japan, its history, society and culture - the acclaimed author of Geisha - comes this gripping and richly detailed new historical novel, telling the true story of Princess Atsu and her struggle to save Japan.

  • 'A moving tribute to friendship and love, to the courage of the ordinary, and to starting again' RACHEL JOYCE

  • This New York Times bestseller tells the remarkable story of three very different women brought together by the infamous Ravensbruck concentration camp. Will appeal to readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and All the Light We Cannot See.

  • The enthralling new novel from the ten-million-copy, Number One bestselling author.

  • Moving through America’s history and its landscape, this is a wondrous, exhilarating novel about nine strangers brought together by an unfolding natural catastrophe.

  • A wonderful, revelatory, unforgettable read about passion, friendship, hidden heroes, and the power of the written word to change the world.

  • From the internationally bestselling author of Into the Wilderness comes a magnificent epic about two pioneering women doctors in 19th-century New York.

Browse more