> Skip to content

Popular Historical Fiction books (2073)

  • Sold in twenty-five countries and poised to become a global literary sensation, Lara Prescott's dazzling first novel about the women in the CIA's typing pool and the fate of Boris Pasternak's banned masterpiece is a sweeping page turner and the most hotly anticipated debut of the year.

  • From the internationally bestselling author of Into the Wilderness comes a magnificent epic about two pioneering women doctors in 19th-century New York.

  • A thrilling literary suspense novel from the multi-award-winning crime writer

  • The runaway international bestseller Lilac Girls introduced the real-life heroine Caroline Ferriday. Now Lost Roses, set a generation earlier and also inspired by true events, features Caroline’s mother, Eliza, and follows three equally indomitable women from St Petersburg to Paris under the shadow of World War I.

  • Our foremost storyteller returns with an audacious new novel, Machines Like Me.

  • The poets and soldiers Siegfried Sassoon and Wilfred Owen are dispatched to Craiglockhart War Hospital in Scotland in 1917. There, army psychiatrist William Rivers is treating brutalised, shell-shocked men.

  • The enthralling new novel from the ten-million-copy, Number One bestselling author.

  • A fascinating novel of the friendship and creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female legends—screenwriter Frances Marion and superstar Mary Pickford—from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife

  • This New York Times bestseller tells the remarkable story of three very different women brought together by the infamous Ravensbruck concentration camp. Will appeal to readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and All the Light We Cannot See.

  • The third instalment in a brand-new dark fantasy series from the country's most daring historical novelist.

  • Moving through America’s history and its landscape, this is a wondrous, exhilarating novel about nine strangers brought together by an unfolding natural catastrophe.

  • A little book containing so much: a novella, history, eyewitness reports, Maori translation, verse and images.

  • The Burnt Country is an enthralling story of integrity, resilience and resistance, from the author of the bestselling The Woolgrower’s Companion.

  • Based on one of history's most epic stories of adventure, Conn Iggulden's latest bestseller pits Persians against Spartans in a legendary battle.

  • The greatest war story in literature, retold by our greatest living storyteller on war - in the voice of the forgotten woman who lived through it.

  • A chilling Dickensian ghost story by one of Ireland's finest writers.

  • The Vintage Classics edition of The Age of Innocence is published to tie-in with the publication of the Vintage paperback of Hermione Lee’s celebrated biography of Edith Wharton

  • Set in rural Queensland in 1929, An Uncommon Woman is the captivating story of a very modern woman who refuses to be held down by the conventions of the past . . .

  • Not since Patrick Suskind's Perfumehas a work of fiction so vividly evoked a time, a place, and a passion . . .

  • THE FOURTEENTH CLIFFEHAVEN NOVEL BY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR ELLIE DEAN

  • In his acclaimed Sunday Times top 10 hardback bestseller, Giles Kristian brings the epic story of the most celebrated of King Arthur's knights roaring to life as never before.

  • A spellbinding, multi-layered mystery set in the 19 Century on the Thames, brimming with folklore, suspense, science and romance, by the bestselling author of The Thirteenth Tale

  • THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE BESTSELLING OUTLANDER SERIES.

  • The historical adult debut novel by # 1 New York Times bestselling author Lauren Kate, The Orphan’s Song is a sweeping love story about family and music—and the secrets each hold—that follows the intertwined fates of two Venetian orphans.

Browse more