> Skip to content

Popular Historical Fiction books (2072)

  • The runaway international bestseller Lilac Girls introduced the real-life heroine Caroline Ferriday. Now Lost Roses, set a generation earlier and also inspired by true events, features Caroline’s mother, Eliza, and follows three equally indomitable women from St Petersburg to Paris under the shadow of World War I.

  • A thrilling literary suspense novel from the multi-award-winning crime writer

  • This New York Times bestseller tells the remarkable story of three very different women brought together by the infamous Ravensbruck concentration camp. Will appeal to readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and All the Light We Cannot See.

  • Moving through America’s history and its landscape, this is a wondrous, exhilarating novel about nine strangers brought together by an unfolding natural catastrophe.

  • The poets and soldiers Siegfried Sassoon and Wilfred Owen are dispatched to Craiglockhart War Hospital in Scotland in 1917. There, army psychiatrist William Rivers is treating brutalised, shell-shocked men.

  • The thrilling new blockbuster by the bestselling author of The Tea Gardens.

  • A fascinating novel of the friendship and creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female legends—screenwriter Frances Marion and superstar Mary Pickford—from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife

  • The enthralling new novel from the ten-million-copy, Number One bestselling author.

  • Our foremost storyteller returns with an audacious new novel, Machines Like Me.

  • Sold in twenty-five countries and poised to become a global literary sensation, Lara Prescott's dazzling first novel about the women in the CIA's typing pool and the fate of Boris Pasternak's banned masterpiece is a sweeping page turner and the most hotly anticipated debut of the year.

  • The Burnt Country is an enthralling story of integrity, resilience and resistance, from the author of the bestselling The Woolgrower’s Companion.

  • From the internationally bestselling author of Into the Wilderness comes a magnificent epic about two pioneering women doctors in 19th-century New York.

  • A little book containing so much: a novella, history, eyewitness reports, Maori translation, verse and images.

  • THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE BESTSELLING OUTLANDER SERIES.

  • A chilling Dickensian ghost story by one of Ireland's finest writers.

  • The greatest war story in literature, retold by our greatest living storyteller on war - in the voice of the forgotten woman who lived through it.

  • The Vintage Classics edition of The Age of Innocence is published to tie-in with the publication of the Vintage paperback of Hermione Lee’s celebrated biography of Edith Wharton

  • Set in rural Queensland in 1929, An Uncommon Woman is the captivating story of a very modern woman who refuses to be held down by the conventions of the past . . .

  • Not since Patrick Suskind's Perfumehas a work of fiction so vividly evoked a time, a place, and a passion . . .

  • The highly anticipated, sensuous new blockbuster by the beloved, bestselling author of The Perfumer's Secret.

  • THE FOURTEENTH CLIFFEHAVEN NOVEL BY SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR ELLIE DEAN

  • First with your head and then with your heart . . .

  • A heartbreaking story about the pursuit of passion by the bestselling author of The Chocolate Tin.

  • Captain Sam Wyndham and his side-kick Surrender-not Banerjee return in this prize-winning historical crime series set in 1920s Calcutta, India.

Browse more