> Skip to content

Meridee Bang is growing up on concrete-block Olivine Street. Her greatest fear is that she will turn into her mum and her greatest wish is for life to be more like The Patty Duke Show. But in the Bang household, growing up is a game of survival. In this bold novel set in 1960s–1980s working-class Christchurch, Stevan Eldred-Grigg returns to the family of his bestselling Oracles and Miracles.

Meridee Bang is brought up in a house on Olivine Street with too many children and too little money. It's the 1960s and while The Patty Duke Show and I Love Lucy depict what life should be like, things are somewhat different in the Bang household. For Meridee the movie of her life is called Getting Dragged up on Olivine Street. In her world, family life is all about survival.
Spanning the '60s, '70s and '80s, Bangs follows Meridee from her pre-school years to her early twenties. Bright, sharp and hopeful, Meridee is a witty but troubled commentator. Will she grow into the beautiful swan with oodles of money that she imagines? Or will she remain an ugly duckling, stuck forever in concrete-block Christchurch?
In this new, bold novel Stevan Eldred-Grigg returns to the family at the centre of his bestselling Oracles and Miracles.

Formats & editions

  • EBook


    September 26, 2012

    Penguin eBooks (NZ Adult)

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Stevan Eldred-Grigg

The Great Wrong War
Shanghai Boy
Diggers, Hatters & Whores
Oracles & Miracles


The Handmaid's Tale
To Kill A Mockingbird
Best Laid Plans
Echo Burning
A Gentleman in Moscow
Fool Me Once
Private Delhi
The Girl on the Train
The Heart's Invisible Furies
Swing Time
The Narrow Road to the Deep North
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
The Girls
The Mistress
The Bone Collection
Cold Blood
Fifty Shades Darker
The Trip of a Lifetime