> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 7 February 2019
  • ISBN: 9781787611634
  • Imprint: Andersen Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 544

Courting Darkness


Formats & editions


First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Red Queen, and A Game of Thrones. When Sybella discovers there is another trained assassin from St. Mortain’s convent deep undercover in the French court, she must use every skill in her arsenal to navigate the deadly royal politics and find her sister in arms before her time – and that of the newly crowned queen – runs out.

When Sybella accompanies the Duchess of Brittany to France, she expects trouble, but she isn’t expecting a deadly trap. Surrounded by enemies both known and unknown, Sybella searches for the undercover assassins from the convent of St. Mortain who were placed in the French court years ago.

Genevieve has been undercover for so many years, she no longer knows who she is or what she’s supposed to be fighting for. When she discovers a hidden prisoner who may be of importance, she takes matters into her own hands.

As these two worlds collide, the fate of the Duchess, Brittany, and everything Sybella and Genevieve have come to love hangs in the balance.

  • Pub date: 7 February 2019
  • ISBN: 9781787611634
  • Imprint: Andersen Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 544

About the Author

Robin LaFevers

Robin LaFevers is an award-winning American children's book writer from California. She is the author of the Theodosia series and Nathaniel Fludd, Beastologist series. Robin grew up in Los Angeles, California and now resides on a small ranch in Southern California with her husband, two sons, dog and cat.

Also by Robin LaFevers

See all

Praise for Courting Darkness

“This rich tapestry of intrigue, betrayal, trauma, protection, old religion, and historically based politics resurrects the urgency and depth of the His Fair Assassin series. Sharp and breathless, full of anger and strength.”

starred review, Kirkus

“Thoroughly developed female protagonists are models for young women . . . LaFevers leads the audience on a lighting-paced chase through a story of adventure, romance and ever-deepening medieval intrigue. A first-purchase gem that will delight fans and engage newcomers”

starred review, School Library Journal

“LaFevers yet again skillfully pulls from the history of the 15th century French-Breton War to create a richly developed world of political intrigue, while casting it with deeply relatable and fully fleshed out characters”

Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“Alternating between Sybella’s and Genevieve’s voices, LaFevers maintains an intense pitch of intrigue: murders, assaults, romance, betrayals, and erotic encounters follow one after another with plenty of garrotes, swords, daggers, poisoned sewing needles, and the like”

The Horn Book Magazine

“…dangerous and intoxicating – sure to leave readers wanting more.”

One Page At A Time, blogger

“…I fell into the court intrigue, the sheer awesomeness of the women in the convent, and just the way LaFevers tells a story.”

The Book Nut, blogger

“Enthralling and spellbinding.”

Bookidote, blogger


Related titles