> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 March 2007
  • ISBN: 9780099422150
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 288
  • RRP: $26.99

Give Us This Day



A powerful novel of love and belief, part-thriller, part love story. The best book yet from the author of THE SEASON TICKET

Tom Carey is a priest in crisis. God's good world has curdled and the Church is beset by scandal. Increasingly, he is haunted by the face of a woman he once secretly loved.
Abandoning his comfortable parish he buries himself in the post of Port Chaplain on a busy river, but soon finds himself caught up in the murky world of international people-smuggling. The alluring but sinister Captain Cargo and his beleaguered Filipino crew seem intent on forcing him into a radical expression of his priesthood, but a chance encounter with the woman he has not seen for thirty years throws his vocation and faith into question.Part love story, part thriller, GIVE US THIS DAY is a compelling tale of love and faith and the risks of intimacy. A novel in the tradition of Graham Greene, GIVE US THIS DAY is above all a poignant study of what it is to be human.

  • Published: 15 March 2007
  • ISBN: 9780099422150
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 288
  • RRP: $26.99

About the author

Jonathan Tulloch

Jonathan Tulloch has written many novels, including The Season Ticket, winner of the Betty Trask Prize, and Give Us This Day. He has also won a K Blundell Award and the J.B. Priestley Award. The Times Literary Supplement listed him as one of the best young British writers. His work has been filmed and translated into five languages.

Also by Jonathan Tulloch

See all

Praise for Give Us This Day

Tulloch's apparently simple and introspective drama turns out to be an immensely resonant and powerful story...[he] masterfully fashions a foreboding gothic landscape out of this godforsaken colony of the damned

Laurence Phelan, Independent on Sunday

Vividly alive

Margaret Walters, Sunday Times

This is Graham Greene territory; part love story, part thriller - a moving account of a man's battle for his own soul

Kate Saunders, The Times

A beautifully nuanced study of a dedicated, decent man who discovers that the simplistic pieties of his training fail to cover the moral complexities of the world in which he lives.

Michael Arditti, Daily Mail

Jonathan Tulloch confirms his promise with Give Us This Day...Tulloch offers a heartening account of how, by defying the Church, a priest can find God

Express

Related titles