> Skip to content
  • Published: 14 September 2021
  • ISBN: 9781529135787
  • Imprint: Century
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 576
  • RRP: $37.00

Jailhouse Lawyer

Two gripping legal thrillers




Two brand-new legal thrillers in one book from the authors of Juror No. 3 - perfect for fans of John Grisham and Steve Cavanagh.

A young lawyer takes on the judge who is destroying her hometown - and ends up behind bars...

In picture-perfect Erva, Alabama, the most serious crimes are misdemeanors. Speeding tickets. Shoplifting. Contempt of court.

Then why is the jail so crowded? And why are so few prisoners released? There's only one place to learn the truth.

Sometimes the best education a lawyer can get is a short stretch of hard time.

INCLUDES BONUS STORY: POWER OF ATTORNEY

  • Published: 14 September 2021
  • ISBN: 9781529135787
  • Imprint: Century
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 576
  • RRP: $37.00

About the author

James Patterson

JAMES PATTERSON is one of the best-known and biggest-selling writers of all time. His books have sold in excess of 375 million copies worldwide. He is the author of some of the most popular series of the past two decades – the Alex Cross, Women’s Murder Club, Detective Michael Bennett and Private novels – and he has written many other number one bestsellers including romance novels and stand-alone thrillers.

James is passionate about encouraging children to read. Inspired by his own son who was a reluctant reader, he also writes a range of books for young readers, including the Middle School, I Funny, Treasure Hunters, House of Robots, Confessions, and Maximum Ride series. James has donated millions in grants to independent bookshops and has been the most borrowed author of adult fiction in UK libraries for the past eleven years in a row. He lives in Florida with his wife and son.

Also by James Patterson

See all

Praise for Jailhouse Lawyer

I couldn't put down Jailhouse Lawyer, a page-turning legal thriller that exposes a headline-making crisis in the American courts: the new debtors' prisons, where an inability to pay court costs sentences poor people to jail, with devastating consequences.

TONY MESSENGER, Pulitzer Prize-winning author

Patterson knows where our deepest fears are buried... there's no stopping his imagination.

NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

No one gets this big without natural storytelling talent - which is what Jim has, in spades.

LEE CHILD, bestselling author of the Jack Reacher series

Patterson boils a scene down to a single, telling detail, the element that defines a character or moves a plot along. It's what fires off the movie projector in the reader's mind.

MICHAEL CONNELLY

James Patterson is the boss. End of.

IAN RANKIN, bestselling author of the Inspector Rebus series

James Patterson is the gold standard by which all others are judged.

STEVE BERRY, bestselling author of the Colton Malone series

Patterson is in a class by himself.

VANITY FAIR

Related titles