> Skip to content

Books to turn to during times of adversity.

Grief affects everybody at some time or another, and we all react differently. There’s no perfect formula for coming to terms with loss, but because of the universal nature of the subject matter, it’s been well covered by many celebrated writers and thinkers. Here are some books, fiction and non-fiction, that explore the nature of loss. They might bring insight, perspective and comfort, and possibly a few tears as well.

  • From Facebook's COO and Wharton’s top-rated professor, the #1 New York Times best-selling authors of Lean In and Originals: a powerful, inspiring, and practical book about building resilience and moving forward after life’s inevitable setbacks.

  • **WINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR** **WINNER OF THE SAMUEL JOHNSON PRIZE FOR NON-FICTION** **WINNER OF THE PRIX DU MEILLEUR LIVRE ÉTRANGER** ‘Dazzling… Deeply affecting, utterly fascinating and blazing with love and intelligence’ Financial Times

  • A warm, moving and practical guide to grief from one of the UK's leading bereavement counsellors.

  • As Macon's life falls apart, he tries to tie it back together with routine and habit. But sometimes life just doesn't work like that.

  • An Anne Tyler gem: a story about love, about marriage, about two ordinary people so intertwined they cannot be separated – even by death ...

  • A moving, powerful and ultimately uplifting story about a family coming to terms with the loss of a child for fans of The Shock of the Fall and Me Before You.

More Book Lists

Kapai the Kiwi

Join Kapai and his mates on a captivating adventure

Paul Cleave: Rejacketed Editions

Stunning new jackets for Paul Cleave's memorable mysteries.

Books to read if you loved 13 Reasons Why

Warning - Tissues maybe required

True Crime Stories

Infamous gangsters to deadly housewives

NZ Favourites Collection

50 of NZ's most loved children's books

Nurses for Life

Celebrate the incredible stories of healthcare’s everyday heroes.