> Skip to content

Just One More Day was the deeply moving memoir of Susan Lewis' early childhood – One Day at a Time continues her poignant story...

In 1960s Bristol, Susan’s family was like any other – with its joys and frustrations and where a fridge was a luxury and bingo and coupons brought in the little extras. Until tragedy struck and left a legacy that was to last a lifetime.

Susan was only ten when her mother was cruelly taken from her. No one spoke of it, no one dared. And Susan was left frightened, angry and confused. And then at eleven she was sent away to school. She didn’t want to go and she didn’t understand why she had to. Why couldn’t she stay at home with her brother and father? Didn't they love her any more...?

Just One More Day is Susan Lewis’ deeply moving memoir – told by mother and daughter – of how the spectre of death moved into their family, and how hard they tried to pretend it wasn’t there. One Day at a Time – told this time by father and daughter, now left behind – continues that story and is every bit as poignant as its predecessor.

Formats & editions

  • Paperback


    December 15, 2011


    448 pages

    RRP $29.99

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

  • EBook


    November 10, 2011

    Cornerstone Digital

    448 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks NZ
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    • Booktopia NZ

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

Also by Susan Lewis

Believe In Me
Hiding in Plain Sight
You Said Forever
The Moment She Left
The Girl Who Came Back
No Place to Hide
Too Close To Home
Behind Closed Doors
Never Say Goodbye
The Truth About You
Don't Let Me Go
No Child of Mine
Susan Lewis Bundle: Missing/ The Mill House
Losing You
No Turning Back
Strange Allure
The Choice
Taking Chances
Out of the Shadows
Lost Innocence


When Breath Becomes Air
Not Dead Yet: The Autobiography
The Princess Diarist
The Man Who Climbs Trees
The Boy Behind the Curtain
Lean In
Option B
The Pigeon Tunnel
The Choice
Lion: A Long Way Home
In Order To Live
Rising Strong
Not Your Average Nurse
A Life Underwater
Life Sentence
Not All Black and White
No Place to Lay One's Head
The Fair and the Foul