> Skip to content
Play sample
  • Published: 11 June 2024
  • ISBN: 9780857529930
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $38.00

Sandwich




One week in Cape Cod. The perfect family holiday. What could possibly go wrong...? From the author of We All Want Impossible Things, a raucously funny novel with an unexpected punch about being 'sandwiched' between growing children and ageing parents and the power of change.

The joyful summer read, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Nora Ephron

One week in Cape Cod. The perfect family holiday. What could possibly go wrong...?


  • Instant NEW YORK TIMES bestseller
  • STYLIST Book of the Month: ‘A holiday reading gem’
  • GUARDIAN Book of the Week: ‘Wise and exquisitely written’
  • RACHEL JOYCE: ‘A piece of perfection’

For the past two decades, Rocky has looked forward to her family’s yearly escape to Cape Cod. Their rustic beach-town rental has been the site of sweet memories, its quirky furniture and mismatched pots and pans greeted like old friends.

Now, sandwiched between her children who are adult enough to be fun but still young enough to need her, and her parents who are alive and healthy, Rocky wants to preserve this golden moment forever. This one precious week when everything is in balance; everything is in flux.

But every family has its secrets and hers is no exception.

With her body in open revolt and surprises invading her peaceful haven, the perfectly balanced seesaw of Rocky’s life is tipping towards change…


  • GRAZIA Book Club Pick
  • ANN PATCHETT: ‘Sandwich is joy in book form’
  • NINA STIBBE: 'Funny, wise, poignant'
  • OBSERVER ‘A gem of a novel’
  • Richard and Judy Book Club selected author for We All Want Impossible Things

____________

Praise for SANDWICH:

Sandwich is joy in book form. I laughed continuously, except for the parts that made me cry. Catherine Newman does a miraculous job reminding us of all the wonder there is to be found in life’ Ann Patchett, author of Tom Lake

‘If you are after a book to pack on your next holiday, look no further. Here is a novel which will go down as easily as a chilled poolside drink’ i Newspaper

‘I adored this novel and am forcing it on everyone I know - Jenny Colgan, author of The Summer Skies

‘Newman is truly a master of taking complex and chaotic human emotion and making sense of it’ Guardian

‘If you want to laugh out loud, tear up and rush to pull out a book in the 35 seconds between subway stops, this sweet, savory, tenderhearted Sandwich fits the bill, and goes down like (bread and) buttah’ New York Times

‘A wonderful book about how families love, disagree, fail one another - and endure’ Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

‘Engaging, frank, funny and moving…in every sense the hot summer read’ Daily Mail


We All Want Impossible Things, RIchard and Judy Book Club Pick, Autumn 2023

  • Published: 11 June 2024
  • ISBN: 9780857529930
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $38.00

About the author

CATHERINE NEWMAN

Catherine Newman is an award-winning writer and columnist. She is the author of the memoirs Catastrophic Happiness and Waiting for Birdy, and the children's books One Mixed-Up Night, Stitch Camp, How to Be a Person and What Can I Say?. She edits the non-profit kids' cooking magazine ChopChop, writes the etiquette column for Real Simple magazine, and is a regular contributor to the New York Times, The Washington Post, O The Oprah Magazine, The Boston Globe, and many other publications. We All Want Impossible Things is her debut novel for adults. She lives in Amherst, Massachusetts, with her family.

Also by CATHERINE NEWMAN

See all

Praise for Sandwich

Sandwich is joy in book form. I laughed continuously, except for the parts that made me cry. Catherine Newman does a miraculous job reminding us of all the wonder there is to be found in life.

Ann Patchett, New York Times bestselling author of Tom Lake

A piece of perfection… Family, love, secrets, a marriage that is ordinary, imperfect, sexy and beautiful… I laughed, I cried and I laughed some more… a wonderful book about how families love, disagree, fail one another - and endure.

Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

Catherine Newman is basically a national treasure at this point… so it’s not surprising that her new hilarious, deeply moving, gorgeously plotted, beautifully written, slyly subversive new novel, Sandwich, hit me like a ton of bricks…. a novel written from a place of wonder and love

Joanna Rakoff, NYT bestselling author of My Salinger Year

I adored this novel and am forcing it on everyone I know

Jenny Colgan, author of The Summer Skies

This will break your heart before putting it back together

Red

If you are after a book to pack on your next holiday, look no further. Here is a novel which will go down as easily as a chilled poolside drink ... Sandwich has such poignant things to say about family, marriage and parenting, while also casting a gorgeous light on those golden holiday days (even if you do spend most of the trip dragging sand around or looking for parking). A hilarious tonic of a book.

i Newspaper

Newman transitions with ease from moments of melancholy to observations which make you laugh out loud. A moving read which finds the joy in everyday life.

PA Media

Explores the compromises of a long marriage and the bittersweetness of children leaving home so beautifully

Good Housekeeping

This author has such an acute observation of relationships ... Catherine creates a real snapshot of families changing and growing

Prima

Engaging, frank, funny and moving and fearlessly explores middle age’s many challenges. In every sense the hot summer read.

Daily Mail

Newman is truly a master of taking complex and chaotic human emotion and making sense of it ... wise and exquisitely written

Guardian

Funny, wise, poignant and beautifully written

Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina

Newman’s second work of fiction confirms her as a writer with a sharp ear for dialogue, astute emotional insight, and an infectious sense of humour. A gem of a novel.

Observer

If you want to laugh out loud, tear up and rush to pull out a book in the 35 seconds between subway stops, this sweet, savory, tenderhearted Sandwich fits the bill, and goes down like (bread and) buttah.

New York Times

Discover more

Article
Top Reads For June

Thrills, romance, contemporary fiction and more; check out our top reads for June!