> Skip to content
  • Published: 16 February 2021
  • ISBN: 9780857527202
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $37.00

The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

The best uplifting book club read of 2021




'Full of wisdom and kindness. Just the kind of book I adore' JOANNA CANNON. An unforgettable, stirring debut of unlikely friendship and living life to the full, for fans of HAROLD FRY, ELINOR OLIPHANT and THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP

A HEART-RENDING, LIFE-ENHANCING DEBUT NOVEL FOR FANS OF ELINOR OLIPHANT, THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP and HAROLD FRY


'I absolutely love it. Graceful, intelligent, stunningly beautiful writing - full of wisdom and kindness, and just the kind of story I adore' JOANNA CANNON

Life is short – no one knows that better than Lenni Petterssen. On the terminal ward the nurses are offering their condolences already, but Lenni still has plenty of living to do, thanks very much.

For a start she’s got far too many questions she needs answers for, and stories yet to uncover.

With the unexpected arrival of 83-year-old Margot, a purple pyjama-ed patient promising new friendship and enviable artistic skills, Lenni’s life begins to expand in ways she'd never imagined.

As their bond deepens, a world of stories from the past opens up: of wartime love and loss, of misunderstanding and reconciliation, of courage, kindness and understanding..

Fiercely alive, disarmingly funny, and brimming with tenderness, THE ONE HUNDRED YEARS OF LENNI AND MARGOT unwraps the extraordinary gift of life even when it is about to be taken away, and revels in our infinite capacity for friendship and love when we are most in need.

  • Published: 16 February 2021
  • ISBN: 9780857527202
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $37.00

About the author

Marianne Cronin

Marianne Cronin was born in 1990 and grew up in Warwickshire. She studied English and Creative Writing at Lancaster University, before going on to specialise in applied linguistics, earning her MA and PhD from the University of Birmingham. The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot is her debut novel

Discover more

Article
The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot book club notes

A tale of extraordinary friendship and a lifetime of stories to share with your book club pals.

Related titles