> Skip to content
  • Published: 5 July 2022
  • ISBN: 9781787635791
  • Imprint: Bantam Press
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $37.00

The Partisan

The explosive debut thriller for fans of Robert Harris and Charles Cumming




IN THE ESPIONAGE GAME, EVERY MOVE MATTERS...
Compelling, intricate and epic in scope, The Partisan is a virtuoso WW2/Cold War thriller introducing a bold new voice to the genre.

It is the summer of 1961 and the brutal Cold War between East and West is becoming ever more perilous.

Two young prodigies from either side of the Iron Curtain, Yulia and Michael, meet at a chess tournament in London. They don't know it, but they are about to compete in the deadliest game ever played.

Shadowing them is Greta, a ruthless resistance fighter who grew up the hard way in the forests of Lithuania, but who is now hunting down some of the most dangerous men in the world.

Men who are also on the radar of Vassily, perhaps the Soviet Union's greatest spymaster. A man of cunning and influence, Vassily was Yulia's minder during her visit to the West, but even he could not foresee the consequences of her meeting Michael.

When the world is accelerating towards an inevitable and catastrophic conflict, what can just four people do to prevent it?

Epic in scope, ThePartisan is a thrill ride like no other, taking you from the hallowed halls of Cambridge to the grimy depths of the Moscow underworld, from 1960s London to the Eastern Front in the Second World War.

  • Published: 5 July 2022
  • ISBN: 9781787635791
  • Imprint: Bantam Press
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $37.00

About the author

Patrick Worrall

Patrick Worrall was educated in Worcestershire and King's College, Cambridge. He has worked as a teacher in eastern Europe and Asia, a newspaper journalist, a court reporter at the Old Bailey and the head of Channel 4 News's FactCheck blog. The Partisan is his first novel.

Praise for The Partisan

Immersive, intriguing, and intelligent - incredibly impressive, up there with the best in the genre

Lee Child

A taut, sophisticated, and hugely satisfying thriller. With a multi-layered and ingenious plot, this is a superb and immensely enjoyable read from an excitingly fresh and original new voice. Wartime resistance, Cold War espionage, a world on the cusp of nuclear catastrophe and a cast of deftly drawn and believable characters combine to make this a hugely compelling, unputdownable and fast-paced read that takes the reader on a journey from the forests of Lithuania, to the Kremlin and back streets of Moscow, to the jazz bars of early 1960s London and the colleges of Cambridge to the bleak realities of the GDR and post-war Vienna.

James Holland

Patrick Worrall has produced a constantly fascinating and emotionally authentic thriller that moves effortlessly and atmospherically from one decade to another and one location to another as the story's devious secrets are revealed.

Robert Goddard

Fast-paced, intriguing and deeply atmospheric. The Kremlin sequences in particular are mighty evocative.

Tom Bradby

A dazzlingly confident debut...Whether he's evoking the Spanish Civil War, the scheming and counter-scheming in Khrushchev's Kremlin or two brainy teenagers falling in love, Worrall rises impressively to every challenge

The Sunday Times (Thriller of the Month)

'Patrick Worrall's remarkedly assured debut, The Partisan, marks the advent of a real talent...What truly impresses is the way he confidently handles a vast and immersive canvas...One to watch'

Sunday Times

It's a masterly tale that is also impressive for being Worrall's debut

Sun

If you're a fan of Len Deighton and John le Carre then this nerve-jangling thriller is for you...The characters are skilfully drawn and complex threads masterfully combined into a gripping read

Yours

Impressive ... The scene-setting is finely detailed and evocative, the characters skilfully drawn

Financial Times

Related titles