> Skip to content

A treasure chest of modern mystery: eleven classic Lew Archer novels in a definitive Library of America boxed set

Revered by such contemporary masters as Sue Grafton, George Pelecanos, and James Ellroy, praised by Eudora Welty as “a more serious and complex writer than Chandler and Hammett ever were,” Ross Macdonald (the pseudonym of Kenneth Millar) brought to the crime novel a new realism and psychological depth and a unique gift for intricately involving mystery narratives. Now, the Library of America presents its three-volume Macdonald edition in a deluxe collector’s edition boxed set. Here are eleven classic novels, all featuring his incomparable protagonist, Southern California private investigator Lew Archer, in authoritative texts with notes by Macdonald’s biographer Tom Nolan:

Four Novels of the 1950s

The Way Some People Die

The Barbarous Coast

The Doomsters

The Galton Case

Three Novels of the Early 1960s

The Zebra-Striped Hearse

The Chill

The Far Side of the Dollar

Four Later Novels

Black Money

The Instant Enemy

The Goodbye Look

The Underground Man

Also by Ross Macdonald

Ross Macdonald Four Later Novels
Ross Macdonald
Ross Macdonald: Three Novels of the Early 1960s: The Zebra-Striped Hearse/The Chill/The Far Side of the Dollar: Library of America #279
The Goodbye Look
The Chill
The Drowning Pool
The Galton Case
The Underground Man
The Three Roads
The Way Some People Die
The Ivory Grin


The Snowman
Make Me
The Girl on the Train
The Store
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
Don't Let Go
After the Fire
The Child
Two Nights
A Stranger in the House
The Girl Who Was Taken
The Murder of Allison Baden-Clay
Never Never
Final Girls
I Am Pilgrim
The Word Is Murder
I Know a Secret
Earthly Remains