> Skip to content

Book clubs  •  29 June 2017

 

Trip of a Lifetime notes

Introduce your book club to the huge-hearted Quinlan family.

No other authors do home and family quite like Monica McInerney. And with The Trip of a Lifetime she returns to a clan readers have come to know and love. For fans of The Alphabet Sisters and Lola’s Secret, the third book in the Quinlan family saga couldn’t have arrived soon enough. There’s plenty of love, secrets and intrigue to go around, so it’s time to share it with your book club kinfolk. Here are some reading group questions to get your next meet-up started.

  • ‘But you’ve had a wonderful life, Lola. A big, beautiful life.’ Do you think this is right, that Lola’s life can be summed up simply as ‘big and beautiful’?
  • Des tells Lola that home is not just about places, but about people and memories of families. How would you define ‘home’?
  • Is it possible to start life over in a new place, or do you inevitably bring parts of the past with you?
  • Who did you think was the funnier character, Carrie or Des?
  • ‘Lola had hoped the most difficult of her Irish memories had lost their power by now… But it was as if all her memories had been waiting. The trip had prised open a trapdoor in her mind, letting them out one by one.’ Did Lola do the right thing going back to Ireland? Is it best to confront difficulties from the past?
  • Lola is devastated when she arrives in Ireland and convinces herself that there is nothing and no one left for her there. On the contrary, she receives the greatest gift of all. Discuss.
  • Bett believes that Lola lied about her past for all the right reasons. Is there ever a good reason to lie?
  • Was Lola right to sell her valuable painting, or was it a foolish act for the short-term benefit of a few?
  • Discuss the significance of the two settings in the novel, the Clare Valley and Ireland, and their similarities and differences.
  • Lola likes to be the centre of attention in the Quinlan family. Is this character trait a blessing or a curse?
  • Geraldine tells Bett that ‘keeping secrets runs in the family’. Discuss.
  • Which is your favourite Quinlan family story by Monica McInerney: The Alphabet Sisters, Lola’s Secret or The Trip of a Lifetime?

The Trip of a Lifetime Monica McInerney

The long-awaited and highly anticipated new novel from one of Australia’s most beloved bestselling authors.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Article
A note from Monica

Start reading an exclusive animated extract of The Trip of a Lifetime.

Article
My trip of a lifetime

Monica McInerney opens her photo album to share some reflections on writing.

Book clubs
Fragile Monsters book club notes

Sweep your book club off to Malaysia with this spellbinding novel of war and family betrayal.

Book clubs
Thursday Murder Club book club notes

A classic whodunit for the most perceptive reading groups.

Book clubs
A Promised Land book club notes

Settle in for a memorable reading group discussion, with Barack Obama’s long-awaited memoirs: A Promised Land.

Book clubs
The Champagne War book club notes

Sweep your book club off to the sun-kissed vineyards of rural France.

Book clubs
The Silence of Snow book club conversation starters

Eileen Merriman, author of The Silence of Snow, has provided some background information on her latest book along with some discussion points for your book club meeting! 

Book clubs
The Tally Stick book club conversation starters

Carl Nixon shares some discussion points and questions for his new book The Tally Stick in this book club guide.

Book clubs
Shakti book club conversation starters

Rajorshi Chakraborti shares discussion points, ideas and questions for his new book Shakti in this book club guide. Special powers are gifted, but there is a Faustian price to pay in this epic novel, packed with laughter, darkness, pain, dreams, superpowers, love and light.

Book clubs
Scented - book club guide

Laurence Fearnley shares her process for writing Scented along with discussion points, ideas and questions for your next book club meeting. 

Book clubs
Caging Skies - book club guide

Christine Leunens shares discussion points, ideas and questions for her book Caging Skies in this book club guide. Caging Skies is a gripping, atmospheric novel about obsession and love.

Book clubs
The Secrets We Kept book club notes

Two female spies, a banned masterpiece, a book that changed history... The Secrets We Kept is perfect for book club.

Looking for more book club notes?

See all book club notes