> Skip to content
  • Published: 26 August 2021
  • ISBN: 9781473585379
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 272

Comrades

A Lifetime of Friendships




Exploring the many and varied friendships that have shaped her life, Comrades is the stunning new essay collection from the critically acclaimed author of Elsewhere. For fans of Emilie Pine, Elizabeth Day and Pandora Sykes.

'My dictionary's first two definitions of 'comrade' are:

A close companion.
An intimate associate or friend.

The third one is:
A fellow soldier.

My friends have been all those things to me.'

In this stunning essay collection, award-winning journalist Rosita Boland explores the many friendships that have shaped her life. Surprising and beautiful, she writes about the imaginary friends of early childhood, books that have provided companionship and joy, kindred spirits met while travelling, the friend she hoped might become something more, and also the friendships that become lost over time.

Life-affirming, affecting and wise, Comrades is a powerful exploration of what it is to live, to connect, and to be human in this world.

  • Published: 26 August 2021
  • ISBN: 9781473585379
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 272

About the author

Rosita Boland

Rosita Boland is a senior features writer at the Irish Times, specialising in human interest stories. She was a 2009 Nieman Fellow at the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University. She won 'Journalist of the Year' at the 2018 Newsbrands Ireland journalism awards.

Also by Rosita Boland

See all

Praise for Comrades

A moving, beautiful and deeply felt meditation on friendship, loyalty and connectedness in a disconnected world

Hilary Fannin

I was fascinated, moved and entertained by every page. This is the kind of book the world needs right now

Donal Ryan

Related titles