> Skip to content
Amanda Hampson
Photo Credit: © Christian Trinder

Amanda Hampson

Book for an event


Amanda Hampson grew up in rural New Zealand. She has lived in London and Sydney, and now lives in Melbourne. Writing professionally for more than 20 years, she is the author of The Olive Sisters, Two for the Road, The French Perfumer, The Yellow Villa, Sixty Summers, Lovebirds, and the bestselling cosy crime novel The Tea Ladies. Her forthcoming novel is The Cryptic Clue.

More features

Video
The Cryptic Clue: A Tea Ladies Mystery by Amanda Hampson Trailer

Read More: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/the-cryptic-clue-9781761341021 Look who’s back in hot water! The highly anticipated new novel in The Tea Ladies mystery series, a runaway bestseller of the year. Ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus. In ZigZag Lane, in the heart of Sydney’s rag-trade district, tea ladies Hazel, Betty and Irene find themselves in hot water. Having already solved a murder, kidnapping and arson case, and outwitting an arch criminal, they have proved themselves a useful resource and earned the respect of a local police officer. Now he needs their help to solve a plot that threatens security. As if that’s not enough, Irene gets a coded message directing her to the spoils of a bank robbery, which sends the tea ladies on a treasure hunt with an unexpected outcome. There’s also trouble brewing within the walls of Empire Fashionwear, where an interloper threatens not just Hazel’s job but the very role of tea lady. It’s up to Hazel to convince her friends to abandon their trolleys and take action to save their livelihoods – before it’s too late.

Video
The Cryptic Clue by Amanda Hampson

PRE-ORDER NOW: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/the-cryptic-clue-9781761341021 Look who’s back in hot water! The highly anticipated new novel in The Tea Ladies mystery series, a runaway bestseller of the year. Ideal for fans of Richard Osman and Bonnie Garmus. In ZigZag Lane, in the heart of Sydney’s rag-trade district, tea ladies Hazel, Betty and Irene find themselves in hot water. Having already solved a murder, kidnapping and arson case, and outwitting an arch criminal, they have proved themselves a useful resource and earned the respect of a local police officer. Now he needs their help to solve a plot that threatens security. As if that’s not enough, Irene gets a coded message directing her to the spoils of a bank robbery, which sends the tea ladies on a treasure hunt with an unexpected outcome. There’s also trouble brewing within the walls of Empire Fashionwear, where an interloper threatens not just Hazel’s job but the very role of tea lady. It’s up to Hazel to convince her friends to abandon their trolleys and take action to save their livelihoods – before it’s too late.

Article
What we're gifting to our mums and mother figures this Mother's Day!

Want some inspiration for great Mother's Day gifts? Read on to hear what members of the Penguin team are planning to gift to their mothers, grandmothers and mother figures!

Article
Surprising perfume facts

Five things Amanda Hampson learned while researching for The French Perfumer.

Article
The French Perfumer

Escape to the south of France in Amanda Hampson’s world of colour.

Article
The Olive Sisters book club notes

Make a toast to The Olive Sisters at your next book club.