> Skip to content

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Books by Maggie Hope

The Coal Miner's Daughter
The Orphan Collection
An Orphan's Secret
The Miner's Girl
Workhouse Child
Eliza's Child
Orphan Girl
Like Mother, Like Daughter
A Daughter's Duty
The Servant Girl
A Daughter's Gift
A Nurse's Duty
Molly's War
A Mother's Gift
A Wartime Nurse