> Skip to content
  • Published: 3 November 2016
  • ISBN: 9781473541689
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 448

A Shilling for a Wife




Gritty and page-turning historical saga set in 1860s Bolton and Manchester, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

**Don't miss Emma Hornby's brilliant first WWII saga, HER WARTIME SECRET - available now**

----------------------------

The bestselling debut saga novel of 2017.

Powerful, absorbing storytelling that fans of sagas by Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Maggie Hope will adore.
Sally Swann thought life couldn't get much worse. Then a single coin changed hands.
A dismal cottage in the heart of Bolton, Lancashire, has been Sally's prison since Joseph Goden 'bought' her from the workhouse as his wife. A drunkard and bully, Joseph rules her with a rod of iron, using fists and threats to keep her in check.

When Sally gives birth, however, she knows she must do anything to save her child from her husband's clutches. She manages to escape, and taking her baby, flees for the belching chimneys of Manchester, in search of her only relative.

But with the threat of discovery by Joseph, who will stop at nothing to find her, Sally must fight with every ounce of strength she has to protect herself and her son, and finally be with the man who truly loves her. For a fresh start does not come without a price . . .

----------------------------

Readers love Emma Hornby:

'Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story that will keep you guessing with twists and turns. Pure talent.'

'Emma Hornby's books just keep getting better and better. Honest, gritty, lovely characters.'

'Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can't wait for your next book. I've read them all.'

'Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can't wait for the next one!'

'Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read'

'Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby'

  • Published: 3 November 2016
  • ISBN: 9781473541689
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 448

About the author

Emma Hornby

Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.

Also by Emma Hornby

See all

Praise for A Shilling for a Wife

A woman's lot was shocking in the 1850s as this Cooksonlike saga brilliantly describes... Have some tissues handy!

Peterborough Telegraph

Related titles