> Skip to content

The story of a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die.

A compelling and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die.
'If you're looking for the next The Fault in Our Stars, this is it' - Guardian
A New York Times bestseller.
Soon to be a major film starring Elle Fanning.
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the 'natural wonders' of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself - a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?
An intense, gripping novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham.
Selected as the launch title for the Zoella Book Club.
'This book is amazing - I couldn't put it down' - Zoe Sugg aka Zoella
'A searingly honest and heartbreakingly poignant tale about the power and beauty of love' - Heat
'Sparkling' - Entertainment Weekly
%%%The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park, All the Bright Places is a compelling and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.



Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.



Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.



When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the 'natural wonders' of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself - a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. How far will Violet go to save the boy she has come to love?



An intense, gripping YA novel, perfect for fans of John Green, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman and Jenny Downham.



About the author: Jennifer Niven is the author of two narrative non-fiction books, The Ice Master and Ada Blackjack; a high school memoir, The Aqua Net Diaries; and four historical novels for adults: Velva Jean Learns to Drive (based on her Emmy Award-winning film of the same name), Velva Jean Learns to Fly, Becoming Clementine, and the forthcoming American Blonde. Jennifer lives in Los Angeles and you can learn more about her at www.jenniferniven.com. All the Bright Places is her first book for young adults.
%%%A compelling and beautiful story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die.


'If you're looking for the next The Fault in Our Stars, this is it' - Guardian

A New York Times bestseller


Soon to be a major film starring Elle Fanning.



Theodore

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780141357034

    January 7, 2015

    Penguin

    400 pages

    RRP $17.99

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

Also by Jennifer Niven

Holding Up The Universe

Recommendations

Turtles All the Way Down
The Christmasaurus
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Anne Of Green Gables
Magnus Chase And The Sword Of Summer (Book 1)
Good Night Stories For Rebel Girls
Grumpy Cat's First Worst Christmas (Grumpy Cat)
Holding Up The Universe
The Sun is also a Star
After
LGB Baby's Christmas
LGB Richard Scarry's The Gingerbread Man
Seuss-Isms
Salt To The Sea
Freckleface Strawberry
The Whole Thing Together
Clover Moon
Me And My Dragon
Jacky Ha-Ha: My Life is a Joke
A Slice of the Moon