> Skip to content

The gripping Temperance Brennan novel from world-class forensic anthropologist Kathy Reichs, the international no. 1 bestselling crime thriller writer and the inspiration behind the hit TV series Bones.

An underground chamber is exposed in a seedy, dilapidated house. In the dark cellar, a ritualistic display is revealed: a human skull rests on a cauldron, surrounded by slain chickens and bizarre figurines.

Called to the scene is forensic anthropologist Dr Temperance Brennan. She determines that the skull is that of a young, black female. But how and when did she die? Just as Tempe is closing in on answers, another body is discovered: a headless corpse carved with Satanic symbols.

As local vigilantes begin a witch-hunt, Tempe struggles to contain her emotions. But the eventual truth proves more shocking than even she could have imagined.


You’ll want to keep turning the pages long after lights out to find out what happens next … Reichs’ real-life expertise gives her novels an authenticity that most other crime novelists would kill for

Daily Express

Reichs' seamless blending of fascinating science and dead-on psychological portrayals, not to mention a whirlwind of a plot, make [her novels] a must read

Jeffery Deaver

With Kathy Reichs the reader knows they're in the hands of an expert

Sunday Express

Brennan is a winner, and so is Reichs

Daily News

A truly impressive writer

We Love This Book

Read More

Formats & editions

Also by Kathy Reichs

Two Nights
The Bone Collection
Trace Evidence
Speaking in Bones
Bones Never Lie
Swamp Bones: A Temperance Brennan Short Story
Shift: A Virals Short Story
Bones of the Lost
Bones In Her Pocket (Temperance Brennan Short Story)
Bones Are Forever
Deja Dead
Fatal Voyage
Flash and Bones
Spider Bones
206 Bones
Bones to Ashes
Break No Bones


The Snowman
Make Me
The Girl on the Train
The Store
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
Don't Let Go
After the Fire
Two Nights
The Child
A Stranger in the House
The Girl Who Was Taken
The Murder of Allison Baden-Clay
Never Never
Final Girls
I Am Pilgrim
I Know a Secret
The Word Is Murder
Earthly Remains
Cop Town