> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 7 November 2019
  • ISBN: 9780241411728
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook

Down in the Valley

A Writer's Landscape

From the author of Cider With Rosie, this is a moving, lyrical portrait of the landscape of Laurie Lee's world.

'Living in our valley was like broad beans in a pod, so snug and enclosed and protective.'

Laurie Lee left his childhood home in the Cotswolds when he was nineteen, but it remained with him throughout his life, until, many years later, he returned for good.

In this never before published collection, Laurie Lee guides us through his home landscape around Slad in Gloucestershire, and the memories of his youth there. Down in the Valley bring to life the sights, sounds and traditions of his home - from his favourite pub, The Woolpack, summer bathing and winter skating on the village pond, the church through the seasons, learning the violin and playing jazz records in the privy on a wind-up gramophone.

Told with a warm sense of humour and a powerful sense of history, Down in the Valley brings us a picture of a vanished world.

  • Pub date: 7 November 2019
  • ISBN: 9780241411728
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook

About the Author

Laurie Lee

Laurie Lee has written some of the best-loved travel books in the English language. Born in Stroud, Gloucestershire, in 1914, he was educated at Slad village school and Stroud Central School. At the age of nineteen he walked to London and then travelled on foot through Spain, where he was trapped by the outbreak of the Civil War. He later returned by crossing the Pyrenees, as he recounted in A Moment of War. In 1950 he married Catherine Polge and they had one daughter. 

Laurie Lee published four collections of poems: The Sun My Monument (1944), The Bloom of Candles (1947), My Many-Coated Man (1955) and Pocket Poems (1960). His other works include The Voyage of Magellan (1948), a verse play for radio; A Rose for Winter (1955), which records his travels in Andalusia; The Firstborn (1964); I Can't Stay Long (1975), a collection of his occasional writing; and Two Women (1983). He also wrote three bestselling volumes of autobiography: Cider with Rosie (1959), which has sold over six million copies worldwide, As I Walked Out One Midsummer Morning (1969) and A Moment of War (1991), which are also published by Penguin in a single volume entitled Red Sky at Sunrise (1992). He died in May 1997.

Also by Laurie Lee

See all

Related titles