> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 February 2022
  • ISBN: 9781662600838
  • Imprint: Astra Publishing House
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 304
  • RRP: $48.00

God of Mercy

A Novel



“Nwoka’s debut feels like a dream, or a fable, or something in between . . . Recommended for fans of Nnedi Okorafor’s Remote Control of Nghi Vo’s The Empress of Salt and Fortune.” —Ashley Rayner, Booklist

"[God of Mercy] owes a debt to Chinua Achebe’s Things Fall Apart, revising that novel's message for the recent past . . . A well-turned dramatization of spiritual and social culture clashes." —Kirkus Reviews

Homegoing meets  Black Leopard, Red Wolf, Okezie Nwọka’s debut novel is a powerful reimagining of a history erased.

God of Mercy is set in Ichulu, an Igbo village where the people’s worship of their gods is absolute. Their adherence to tradition has allowed them to evade the influences of colonialism and globalization. But the village is reckoning with changes, including a war between gods signaled by Ijeoma, a girl who can fly.

As tensions grow between Ichulu and its neighboring colonized villages, Ijeoma is forced into exile. Reckoning with her powers and exposed to the world beyond Ichulu, she is imprisoned by a Christian church under the accusation of being a witch. Suffering through isolation, she comes to understand the truth of merciful love.

Reimagining the nature of tradition and cultural heritage and establishing a folklore of the uncolonized, God of Mercy is a novel about wrestling with gods, confronting demons, and understanding one's true purpose.

  • Published: 1 February 2022
  • ISBN: 9781662600838
  • Imprint: Astra Publishing House
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 304
  • RRP: $48.00

Praise for God of Mercy

"God of Mercy is a profound exploration of religion, faith, and compassion from a gifted storyteller. Okezie Nwọka creates a richly imagined postcolonial landscape that is at once otherworldly, tragically human, and completely unforgettable." —Maisy Card, author of These Ghosts are Family

Related titles