> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 29 January 2014
  • ISBN: 9781743484593
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 300

Great Bites for Girls

Inside this book are sea-serpent rescues, lost-pet mysteries, best-friend problems, and big-bad-bunny fears! If this sounds like a whole lot of fun, then Great Bites for Girls is the book for you!

This delightful collection of Bites from the much-loved series has been specially put together for girls.
The Sugar-Gum Tree by Patricia Wrightson, illustrated by David Cox
Sarah Bell and Penny May were best friends. Sometimes they had fights, but afterwards they were best friends again.
Then one day they had a really bad fight.
Serena and the Sea Serpent by Garth Nix, illustrated by Stephen Michael King
A fierce sea serpent is frightening the people of Blubber Point.
Can super-smart Serena Smith scare him off?
Jessie and Mr Smith by Jane Godwin, illustrated by Ann James
Jessie would love to keep the tortoise in her backyard. But Mr Smith must belong to somebody. Will Jessie find the right home for him?
Big Bad Bunnies by Danny Katz, illustrated by Mitch Vane
Sandra is scared of bunny rabbits. She's terrified of their SCARY little bunny faces and their long NASTY bunny ears and their EVIL little bunny eyes. So what is Sandra to do when she finds herself at the Petting Zoo with a big BAD bunny snuggling up to her?

  • Pub date: 29 January 2014
  • ISBN: 9781743484593
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 300

About the Authors

Jane Godwin

Jane Godwin is an Australian children’s book publisher, and also the highly acclaimed author of over twenty books for children, across all styles and ages. Her work is published internationally and she has received many commendations, including the Queensland Premier’s Award (Children’s Books), the Aurealis Award and the Animal Welfare Award, and shortlistings in the CBC Book of the Year Awards, the Prime Minister’s Literary Award, the New South Wales State Literary Award (Patricia Wrightson Prize) the YABBA Awards, the Speech Pathology Awards, The Family Award for Children’s Books, and the Australian Book Industry Awards.

Patricia Wrightson

Patricia Wrightson was one of Australia's most distinguished writers for children. Her books have won many prestigious awards all over the world. She was awarded an OBE (Officer of the British Empire) in 1977, the Dromkeen Medal in 1984 and the Hans Christian Andersen Medal in 1986, all for her services to children's literature. She was also a four-time winner of the Australian Children's Book Council Book of the Year Award: in 1956 for The Crooked Snake, in 1974 for The Nargun and the Stars, in 1978 for The Ice Is Coming and in 1984 for A Little Fear. Patricia passed away in 2010.

Related titles