> Skip to content

A complex and sophisticated crime thriller from an astonishing new talent

A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

A RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK FOR SPRING 2017

When the body of a young girl is found hanging from a tree, the only clue the police have is an airline tag around her neck. It reads ‘I’m travelling alone’.

In response, police investigator Holger Munch is immediately charged with assembling a special homicide unit. But to complete the team, he must track down his former partner, Mia Krüger – a brilliant but troubled detective – who has retreated to a solitary island with plans to kill herself.

Reviewing the file, Mia finds something new – a thin line carved into the dead girl’s fingernail: the number 1. She knows that this is only the beginning. To save other children from the same fate, she must find a way to cast aside her own demons and stop this murderer from becoming a serial killer.


PRAISE FOR I'M TRAVELLING ALONE:

'Terrific . . . Intelligent and gripping . . . May well propel [Bjork] to deserved international fame.' The Times

'This is a simply terrific debut. The characters are completely believable, the plot is scalpel sharp and, as the hunt escalates, it will frighten the wits out of you in an utterly brilliant way.' Sunday Mirror

‘Tense, thrilling and genuinely scary.’ Heat

Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo’s Harry Hole series and Danish crime drama The Bridge.’ Crime Scene Magazine

'Samuel Bjork’s formidable I’m Travelling Alone is despatched with real élan . . . Mia’s confrontation with both her own demons and a very human one is mesmerising fare.' Independent

The latest Norwegian crime-writing sensation.’ Sunday Times

Reviews

Terrific . . . Intelligent and gripping . . . May well propel [Bjork] to deserved international fame

The Times

Samuel Bjork’s formidable I’m Travelling Alone is despatched with real élan . . . Mia’s confrontation with both her own demons and a very human one is mesmerising fare

Independent

A compelling novel, with plenty of intrigue and some splendid action sequences

Guardian

Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole series and Danish crime drama The Bridge

Crime Scene

Tense, thrilling and genuinely scary *****

Heat

A tense and smartly constructed narrative

Wall Street Journal

The story is exciting, the setting cleverly evoked, the translation excellent . . . Welcome to a new voice.

Literary Review

Icy landscapes, mysterious clues, a messed up heroine . . . Nordic noir at its delicious best

Sarah Hilary, author of Someone Else's Skin

If this is a debut novel, then it is something of a literary sensation

Bergens Tidende (Norway)

One is tempted to call it a textbook on the modern crime novel. This is how it should be done

Folkebladet (Denmark)

I’m Travelling Alone is a stunning debut. Think the debut of Stieg Larsson and how that reverberated for the next decade. The time has come again for such a debut and it is a beauty. This is the beginning of a major series and is truly awesome.

Ken Bruen

Crime addicts should look out for I'm Travelling Alone

GQ

An absolutely brilliant Norwegian crime novel that has everything you want in a good story. Believable and interesting characters. A truly thrilling mystery and plot

Aftonbladet (Sweden)

Excellent reviews and thousands of hooked readers. Welcome to the dark world of Inspector H. Munch and to an unforgettable crime novel

Cosmopolitan (Spain)

A dangerously good thriller

Wegener Dagbladen (Holland)

This thriller gets under your skin and won't let you go. One thing is very clear at the end: we want to read more about Holger Munch and Mia Krüger!

Booksection.de (Germany)

A very sophisticated and terrifying thriller, which keeps the reader guessing and gasping to the very last page. The story is powerful, the style is fluent, and the cast of characters is simply irresistible

Thrillermagazine.it (Italy)

Read More

Formats & editions

Also by Samuel Bjork

The Owl Always Hunts at Night

Recommendations

The Thirst
Make Me
The Girl on the Train
The Store
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
Don't Let Go
The Travelling Cat Chronicles
After the Fire
The Child
Two Nights
A Stranger in the House
Inferno
The Girl Who Was Taken
Norwegian Wood
The Murder of Allison Baden-Clay
Never Never
Bonfire
Final Girls
I Am Pilgrim
The Word Is Murder