> Skip to content
  • Published: 5 January 2021
  • ISBN: 9781760896089
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $17.99

Little Gem




An adorable and charming new children's series that is a sparkling gem of a read for anyone who loves Polly and Buster or Mummy Fairy and Me!

Sometimes getting a little lost can help you discover who you really are . . .

When her spell at Witchcraft School goes wrong, Gem lands in an unfamiliar, empty cottage, outside a strange, colourful town.

Everyone in Ellsworth Pining thinks Gem is their new village witch, even when Gem tries to correct them. And Gem’s new friends do need her. The Weather Worker is missing, and there are tales of a terrifying beast in the woods.

Gem might know a spell that could help – if she can get it right.

  • Published: 5 January 2021
  • ISBN: 9781760896089
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $17.99

About the author

Anna Zobel

Anna Zobel is an illustrator, writer and teacher from Melbourne, Australia. As a child, Anna wrote and illustrated her own books, and she hasn’t stopped since. Anna is inspired — and occasionally infected — by the children she works with, and hopes to represent them in her work.

Also by Anna Zobel

See all

Praise for Little Gem

Little Gem is a magical story, perfect for seven to nine-year-olds. In a similar vein to Jill Murphy's The Worst Witch series, the book is filled with adventure, friendship, fun and lots of sweet treats . . . With Little Gem Zobel has created a colourful cast of characters that readers will love and a fresh new series that will appeal to fans of Sally Rippin's Polly and Buster.

Books + Publishing

Little Gem is a feel-good story about friendship and finding your place in the world. A lovely first book in a series everyone will want to collect.

Sue Mauger, Glam Adelaide

Younger readers who love the Worst Witch series (whether books or TV) will fall in love with Little Gem . . . This is a perfectly delightful story, the start of a new series, which will enchant your young readers and empower those who may feel they are the odd ones out or not so adept as it proves that there is a ‘right fit’ for all of us, no matter our strengths or weaknesses. Anna Zobel has created a real winner here for younger readers from around six years upwards and both her text and illustrations are charming.

kids-bookreview.com

Little Gem is the embodiment of persistence and kindness. If at first she doesn’t succeed, she tries again until she gets it right. She does everything in her power to help the generous townspeople, and her self-confidence grows as she realises that perhaps she isn’t such a bad witch after all. Gem shows that failing doesn’t make you a failure, and that your determination and love will ensure you find success, even if it’s in an unexpected place . . . I would recommend this magical tale for children 5-8 years old, it could be especially valuable for kids who struggle with schoolwork or self-esteem.

Libby Boas, Reading Time

Discover more

Video
How to Draw Little Gem with author-illustrator Anna Zobel

Buy: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/little-gem-9781760896089 Learn to draw Little Gem with illustrator Anna Zobel. An adorable and charming new children's series that is a sparkling gem of a read for anyone who loves POLLY AND BUSTER or MUMMY FAIRY AND ME! When her spell at Witchcraft School goes wrong, Gem lands in an unfamiliar, empty cottage, outside a strange, colourful town. Everyone in Ellsworth Pining thinks Gem is their new village witch, even when Gem tries to correct them. And Gem’s new friends do need her. The Weather Worker is missing, and there are tales of a terrifying beast in the woods. Gem might know a spell that could help – if she can get it right. #AnnaZobel #LittleGem #HowtoDraw

Video
The inspiration for Little Gem by author-illustrator Anna Zobel

Buy: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/little-gem-9781760896089 An adorable and charming new children's series that is a sparkling gem of a read for anyone who loves POLLY AND BUSTER or MUMMY FAIRY AND ME! When her spell at Witchcraft School goes wrong, Gem lands in an unfamiliar, empty cottage, outside a strange, colourful town. Everyone in Ellsworth Pining thinks Gem is their new village witch, even when Gem tries to correct them. And Gem’s new friends do need her. The Weather Worker is missing, and there are tales of a terrifying beast in the woods. Gem might know a spell that could help – if she can get it right.

Related titles