> Skip to content
  • Published: 31 August 2021
  • ISBN: 9780552162517
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $24.00

Mistress of My Fate

By the award-winning and Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE




The pageturning debut historical novel by author of Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling and award-winning author of non-fiction hit, THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER. Perfect for fans of BRIDGERTON and HARLOTS.

For fans of BBC TV's hit series BRIDGERTON and HARLOTS

'A remarkable picture of a fascinating age' DAILY EXPRESS
'A full-blooded historical' INDEPENDENT
_____________________
My tale is not for the faint of heart.

Born illegitimate in eighteenth-century England, Henrietta Lightfoot confesses the truth about her scandalous life in this candid and astonishing coming-of-age.

After fleeing her childhood home for London without a penny, Henrietta falls face first into a demi-monde of rakes, rogues, wits, pimps and courtesans. Forced to fend for herself, she begins to realize true liberty is a man's privilege. Can Henrietta survive as an independent woman in a world designed for men?

In this deliciously fast-paced novel, Rubenhold illuminates the dark lives of the women written out of eighteenth-century literature by the great male writers. Vibrant and full-blooded, it is an unputdownable picaresque story for our times

'Two parts Lizzie Bennett and Tom Jones's Sophia Western to one part Moll Flanders' INDEPENDENT

'Combines extraordinary bawdiness with silky sophistication' DAILY EXPRESS

  • Published: 31 August 2021
  • ISBN: 9780552162517
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $24.00

About the author

Hallie Rubenhold

Hallie Rubenhold is the Number One Sunday Times bestselling and Baillie Gifford Non-Fiction prize-winning social historian whose expertise lies in revealing stories of previously unknown women and episodes in history. By drawing upon a wealth of formerly unseen archival material and adding a full historical context to the victims' lives, The Five changes the narrative of these murders for ever. Rubenhold's books include Lady Worsley's Whim, dramatized by the BBC as 'The Scandalous Lady W', and Covent Garden Ladies: The Extraordinary Story of Harris's List, which inspired the ITV series 'Harlots'. She has also written two acclaimed novels of female intrigue, revenge and betrayal: Mistress of My Fate and The French Lesson. She lives in London with her husband.

Also by Hallie Rubenhold

See all

Related titles