> Skip to content
  • Published: 14 May 2018
  • ISBN: 9780718186876
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $21.00

Nyxia

The Nyxia Triad




For all fans of Pittacus Lore, a thrilling new dystopian trilogy in which 10 recruits must battle one another to survive . . . in space

Emmett Atwater isn't just leaving Detroit; he's leaving Earth. Why Babel recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on his contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family, forever.

As he and nine other teenagers wormhole their way through space, Emmett discovers that each recruit must earn the right to travel down to Eden. There, Babel will use them to mine a substance that's quietly become the most valuable one in the world. For the chosen 10, every training session is measured, every point matters, and Emmett will do anything to win.

But Babel's ship is full of secrets. And as Emmett uncovers the truth, he realizes he's not fighting for wealth or glory. He's fighting for his life.

  • Published: 14 May 2018
  • ISBN: 9780718186876
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $21.00

About the author

Scott Reintgen

Scott Reintgen teaches English and Creative Writing. He lives in North Carolina with his wife.

Also by Scott Reintgen

See all

Praise for Nyxia

Fans of Hunger Games and Red Rising will devour this - it's ridiculously good. I loved every page

K.D., Goodreads

In a word: Wow. I could not put it down. If I could give it six stars, I would

Nic Stone, Goodreads

An absolute page-turner

Vic James, author of 'Gilded Cage'

My most anticipated YA debut of 2017

Pied Piper, Goodreads

Fast-moving and thrilling, and very difficult to put down

Justin, Goodreads

The setup will draw comparisons to The Hunger Games, but Reintgen's characters stand on their own, and the trials they face are inventive. Emmett's self-deprecation, wit, and ability to see the good in others will keep readers riveted and eager for the next volume in this planned trilogy

Publishers Weekly

A black protagonist in outer space is welcome...copious action and a reality TV atmosphere (the scoreboard shows regularly) make the pace flow. Fast-moving and intriguing

Kirkus Reviews

An amazing adventure of intelligence and strength, this sci-fi book presents diverse and complex characters in a tale about greed and internal compromise. The author brings to life more than a dozen characters with depth and individual personalities and agendas. This is a wonderful example of how personal and corporate values are often intertwined despite being at odds with each other. Verdict: Fans of The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner series will enjoy this series opener

School Library Journal

File this book under A for Amazing

Jay Kristoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Illuminae Files

Brilliant concept meets stellar execution in this fast-paced deep space adventure. I was hooked from page one

Victoria Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Reintgen's Nyxia has all the qualities that will make this become a blockbuster and one of the most important young-adult science-fiction stories of our time. The plot is gripping. The characters are a spectacularly multi-ethnic blend of misfits and outsiders that are unflinchingly human and flawed. Simply amazing all around, and I desperately need the next story from this new author

Jay Coles, author of Tyler Johnson Was Here

Sleek, fast, and action-packed, this is a thrilling new take on space adventure. I got to the end and instantly wanted more

Stefan Bachmann, author of the internationally acclaimed The Peculiar

Sleek, fast, and action-packed, this is a thrilling new take on space adventure. I got to the end and instantly wanted more

Nic Stone, debut author of Dear Martin

With a vivid cast of characters, relentless pacing, and layers ofmystery, Reintgen hits all the right buttons to craft an addictive pageturner

Fonda Lee, author of Zeroboxer and Exo

The futuristic ship is full of impressive gadgets; the competitions are clever and it's fun to guess what skill they might be designed to elicit; the true stars, however, are the teens themselves, wildly diverse and all carrying their own emotional baggage. It is still of note when an African American boy pops up as a sci-fi protagonist, and Emmett is a complex, well-developed, and rich character who speaks, acts, and interacts like a teen who was raised in a rough, urban setting but surrounded by people who love him. Both curious and suspicious at every turn, he is an ideal narrator, and a sequel can't come soon enough

The Bulletin of the Center of Children's Books

Related titles