> Skip to content

Imagine a world in which the Berlin Wall never fell... A modern-day Cold War thriller: Robert Harris’s Fatherland meets John le Carré’s The Spy Who Came in from the Cold.

October 2011. While West Berlin enjoys all the trappings of capitalism, on the crowded, polluted, Eastern side of the Wall, the GDR is facing bankruptcy. The ailing government's only hope lies in economic talks with the West, but then an ally of the GDR’s chairman is found murdered – and all the clues suggest that his killer came from within the Stasi.

Detective Martin Wegener is assigned to the case, but, with the future of East Germany hanging over him, Wegener must work with the West German police if he is to find the killer, even if it means investigating the Stasi themselves. It is a journey that will take him from Stasi meeting rooms to secret prisons as he begins to unravel the identity of both victim and killer, and the meaning of the mysterious Plan D.

Plan D is a gripping thriller and a thought-provoking alternative history in the vein of Robert Harris’s Fatherland and John le Carré’s The Spy Who Came in from the Cold.

Reviews

Urban has conjured up an engaging tale of what might have been

Ben Felsenburg, Metro

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780099578352

    June 15, 2014

    Vintage

    528 pages

    RRP $26.99

    Online retailers

    • Fishpond
    • Mighty Ape
    • Paper Plus
    • The Warehouse
    • Whitcoulls
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at www.booksellers.co.nz/directory

  • EBook

    9781448138494

    June 20, 2013

    Vintage Digital

    528 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks NZ
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    • Booktopia NZ

Recommendations

The Handmaid's Tale
To Kill A Mockingbird
A Gentleman in Moscow
Echo Burning
The Girl on the Train
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
Dragonfly In Amber
The Heart's Invisible Furies
The Narrow Road to the Deep North
The Golden House
On Chesil Beach
Breath
Ready Player One
The Trip of a Lifetime
The Light Between Oceans
Colombiano
The Travelling Cat Chronicles
Animal Farm
Sanctuary
Norwegian Wood