> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 9 October 2014
  • ISBN: 9781448154258
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384


Real women. Gritty lives. Gruesome murders.

The third novel in our series of Scott & Bailey prequels featuring the straight-talking Manchester detective duo Rachel Bailey and Janet Scott, and their dynamic boss Gill Murray.

A community on the brink.

An abandoned chapel burns. In this part of Manchester, destruction is not unusual. But this time, the body of a man lies inside.

And it’s down to Scott and Bailey to save them all...

Detective Constable Rachel Bailey is struggling to come to terms with huge change, just as her partner, DC Janet Scott grapples with a horrifying tragedy. But they must put aside their own troubles if they are to solve this murder investigation. Especially when a second building goes up in flames…

  • Pub date: 9 October 2014
  • ISBN: 9781448154258
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384

About the Author

Cath Staincliffe

Cath Staincliffe is an established novelist, radio playwright and creator of ITV's hit series, Blue Murder, starring Caroline Quentin as DCI Janine Lewis. Cath was shortlisted for the CWA best first novel award for her acclaimed Sal Kilkenny series and for the Dagger in the Library. Her latest stand-alone novels all focus on topical moral dilemmas. She is a founding member of Murder Squad, a group who promote crime fiction.


Also by Cath Staincliffe

See all

Praise for Ruthless

“Real people, real problems...Staincliffe writes brilliantly and compassionately about things that matter. Seriously good”

Literary Review

“Gritty, intelligent, humane and involving”

The Big Issue

“An intelligent and emotionally engaging moral workout”

The Daily Telegraph

“Has her finger on the pulse of her city and that rare ability to write about love, motherhood and friendship without sentimentality”

Val McDermid

Related titles