> Skip to content
Read an extract About the book
  • Published: 12 February 2018
  • ISBN: 9781784162146
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448
  • RRP: $26.00

Sirens




Sirens is the brooding and assured debut from Joseph Knox, the next big name in crime fiction.

‘Brooding, blistering. Sirens is a remarkable literary thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Lee Burke’ AJ Finn, author of The Woman in the Window


WATERSTONES THRILLER OF THE MONTH

I stopped going to work. I went missing. We still live in a world where you can disappear if you want to. Or even if you don't.
Detective Aidan Waits is in trouble

After a career-ending mistake, he’s forced into a nightmare undercover operation that his superiors don’t expect him to survive.

Isabelle Rossiter has run away again

When the teenage daughter of a prominent MP joins Zain Carver, the enigmatic criminal who Waits is investigating, everything changes.

A single mother, missing for a decade

Carver is a mesmerising figure who lures young women into his orbit – young women who have a bad habit of disappearing. Soon Waits is cut loose by the police, stalked by an unseen killer and dangerously attracted to the wrong woman.

How can he save the girl, when he can’t even save himself?


*

Reader reviews:

'It is an utterly brilliant debut novel; dark, gritty, menacing and meaningful.' *****

'Compulsive reading, so well written that even the gruesome cruelty and sense of helplessness in a dark world seemed right.'*****

'Knox is always one-step ahead, deceiving the reader and creating a sexy, stylish world always with danger around every corner.' *****

*

The bestselling debut from the winner of the Sky Arts Writer of the Year Award, the next big name in crime fiction - Joseph Knox.

  • Pub date: 12 February 2018
  • ISBN: 9781784162146
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448
  • RRP: $26.00

About the Author

Joseph Knox

Joseph Knox was born and raised in and around Stoke and Manchester, where he worked in bars and bookshops before moving to London. He runs, writes and reads compulsively. His debut novel Sirens was a bestseller.

The Smiling Man is the second in the DC Aidan Waits series.

Also by Joseph Knox

See all

Praise for Sirens

“Knox presents the city as pungently and uncompromisingly as Ian Rankin does Edinburgh”

Guardian

“A firecracker of a crime tale. His writing is taut, atmospheric and studded with eye-catching descriptions. An arresting new talent.”

Metro

“Razor-sharp urban noir – very special indeed.”

Lee Child

“Sirens is a powerhouse of noir. Joseph Knox owns Manchester and paints it in all its grimy colours.”

Val McDermid

“Thrilling, breathless stuff”

Observer

“The dark, gritty underbelly of Manchester is captured with eviscerating authenticity in this debut . . . This is urban noir at its freshest and most ferocious.”

Daily Mail

“A noir in that great tradition of the American writers James M Cain and Dashiel Hammet . . . it reminded me a bit of Chandler’s LA, the whole city is corrupt, the authority figures are as bad as the criminals.”

Jake Kerridge on Open Book, Radio 4

“Jumps straight into the top league of English noir.”

The Times

“Manchester throbs with lowlife in this startling debut . . . a page-turner with a beating heart. I loved it.”

Sarah Hilary

“This is an excellent read; it feels both classic and completely new and is remarkably assured for a first outing.”

Stylist

“Gripping, powerfully compelling debut”

Daily Express

“Waits’ first fictional outing is a shadowy, disturbing narrative and once you start reading it’s hard to resist the call. Sirens is the best British crime debut of the last five years.”

Crimescene Magazine

“A fierce, assured and utterly compelling debut . . . A Ross MacDonald for the 21st century.”

Stav Sherez

“Great read. A powerful piece of Manchester noir, brutal, poignant and dark as tar.”

Cath Staincliffe

“Fresh and darkly stylish, Sirens is a striking debut that marks the arrival of a major new crime writing talent.”

Chris Ewan

“Sirens immediately feels like a classic, not a debut . . . a book for every crime fan.”

Julia Heaberlin, author of Black Eyed Susans

“An amazing thriller. Sexy, stylish suspense.”

A. A. Dhand

“A dark, dangerous noir, Sirens will be one of 2017’s smash hit debuts.”

Nick Quantrill

“A down and dirty slice of Manchester noir . . . Impressively bleak.”

Shots Magazine

“Page-turner is the only word for it.”

Press Association

“Brooding, blistering. Sirens is a remarkable literary thriller, perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Lee Burke”

A.J. Finn, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window


Related titles