> Skip to content

Award-winning author Sonnya Harnett's Sleeping Dogs about a dysfunctional family in a gritty rural town and the outsider who unwittingly uncovers its secrets was the winner of both the Victorian Premier's Literary Award Sheaffer Pen Prize and the Miles Franklin Inaugural Kathleen Mitchell Award.

The Willow family's world is a place of strange safety and dark unease. Such a place cannot last forever.


The finest Australian writer of her generation

The Age

Formats & editions

Also by Sonya Hartnett

The Wild One
Golden Boys
The Boy and The Toy
Life in Ten Houses: Penguin Special
The Best Australian Stories 2012
Children of the King
Come Down, Cat!
The Midnight Zoo
Surrender: Popular Penguins
Of a Boy: Popular Penguins
Ghost's Child
The Silver Donkey
Stripes of the Sidestep Wolf
Of a Boy
Thursday's Child
All My Dangerous Friends
The Devil Latch
Black Foxes
Wilful Blue