> Skip to content
  • Published: 25 June 2020
  • ISBN: 9781405930901
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

The Black Art of Killing

The most explosive thriller you'll read this year




An action packed adventure thriller from the acclaimed screenwriter of Keeping Faith. For fans of Frank Gardner and James Swallow.

For twenty years Leo Black was in the SAS.
Now he lectures on violence instead of committing it.
Having put his soldiering days long behind him, Black pursues a respectful academic life.

But when a former comrade in arms is killed trying to prevent a scientist's abduction, Black is faced with an unexpected choice.

Be the upright citizen the university demands - or avenge the dead man to whom he owes his life . . .

  • Published: 25 June 2020
  • ISBN: 9781405930901
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

Praise for The Black Art of Killing

Breathlessly enjoyable

The Times

An edge-of-the-seat thriller . . . should come with a health warning

Irish Independent

Fasten your seatbelts for a quality thriller . . .

Independent on Sunday

Praise for Matthew Hall

-

This intelligent thriller is his best work yet

The Sun

This is an ideal piece of escapism. I heartily recommend it

Shots Magazine

Hall probes how a real-life Jack Reacher figure might cope with years of taking lives for the greater good, and Black's inner conflict gives the firefights and betrayals erupting around him unusual depth

The Times

A Bond-style thriller for the 21st century. . . Written with pace and great panache, it feels like a movie already

The Daily Mail

A fast-paced global thriller

Mail on Sunday

Matthew Hall has crafted an action thriller with more texture than most

The Times

Related titles