> Skip to content

The Daydreamer takes the reader out of reality and into the dream world of 10 year old Peter Fortune

In these seven interlinked stories the grown-up Peter reveals the secret journeys, metamorphoses and adventures of his childhood. Living somewhere between dream and reality Peter experiences magical transformations when he swaps bodies with William, the family cat, the baby Kenneth and, in the final story, wakes up as a twelve-year-old inside a grown-up body and experiences the adventure of falling in love.

Formats & editions

Also by Ian McEwan

On Chesil Beach (Vintage Summer)
The Children Act
Sweet Tooth
First Love, Last Rites
For You
On Chesil Beach
Rose Blanche
Black Dogs
The Innocent
Enduring Love
The Child In Time
In Between the Sheets
The Comfort Of Strangers
The Cement Garden


Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
The Handmaid's Tale
To Kill A Mockingbird
Alice-Miranda At School 1
Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator
Midnight Jewel
Ranger's Apprentice 4: Oakleaf Bearers
Noughts & Crosses
If I Stay
Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda
Why I Love Footy
Echo Burning
Library Of Souls
A Gentleman in Moscow
Best Laid Plans
The Wee Free Men
Fool Me Once
Thirteen Reasons Why