> Skip to content
Play sample
  • Published: 26 March 2024
  • ISBN: 9781529919622
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $26.00

The Interpreter

The most dangerous person in the courtroom isn’t the killer…




Innocent or guilty. It's all a matter of interpretation... Vintage's lead crime thriller debut, for readers of Louise Candlish, Sarah Vaughan, and Harriet Tyce

'I raced through it. Brilliant writing' - Harriet Tyce

Single mother Revelle Lee is an interpreter who spends her days translating for victims, witnesses and the accused across London. Only she knows what they're saying. Only she knows the truth.

When she believes a grave injustice is about to happen, and a guilty man is going to be labelled innocent, she has the power to twist an alibi to get the verdict she wants. She's willing to risk it all to do what's right.

But when someone discovers she lied, Revelle finds the cost might be too high... and she could lose everything, including her son.

  • Published: 26 March 2024
  • ISBN: 9781529919622
  • Imprint: Vintage
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $26.00

About the author

Brooke Robinson

Brooke Robinson grew up in Sydney and as a playwright, has had numerous plays commissioned and produced in her native Australia. In the UK, her work has been shown at the Old Vic theatre and London's Vault Festival. She studied drama at RADA (The Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts) and City, University of London. The Interpreter is her debut novel.

Also by Brooke Robinson

See all

Praise for The Interpreter

CLEVER, ATMOSPHERIC AND UTTERLY ABSORBING - I LOVED IT

Alice Clark-Platts, author of THE COVE

Brilliantly crafted and deliciously dark, The Interpreter forces us to question how far is too far when it comes to serving justice and protecting our loved ones, and whether the best of intentions can excuse cataclysmic outcomes. A propulsive and heartfelt page-turner

Erica Katz, author of The Boys’ Club and Fake

Compelling and ingenious, this thriller explores the lengths people go to to protect others

Prima

Fresh, exciting and original

Heat

An ingenious premise, cleverly executed, THE INTERPRETER is multi-layered and intriguing, gripping from beginning to end

Sabine Durrant, Sunday Times bestselling author of Lie With Me

Brutally honest about the trauma of adoption, and yet still written with affection about a woman who is desperate for justice, it is no surprise that it has already been bought by Hollywood

Daily Mail

Robinson delivers an intricate debut thriller that plays with the tangled relationship between language, truth and justice in ways that will surprise even veteran crime readers

Sydney Morning Herald

In this stellar debut thriller... Robinson is marvelous at mining the moral murk of Revelle's choices, and chapters from the perspective of her stalker ratchet up the suspense. Minnette Walters fans will be delighted

Publishers Weekly

I raced through it. Brilliant writing, properly tense and a fascinating perspective on criminal trials with an interpreter protagonist

Harriet Tyce

Discover more

Article
Great Winter Reads

Books that are perfect for curling up with this winter!