> Skip to content
  • Published: 6 February 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473571051
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

The Last Day

The Sunday Times bestseller and one of their best books of 2020




HALF THE WORLD IS DARK. ONLY SHE CAN SAVE THE LIGHT. A high-concept, utterly original debut thriller which envisages a world on the edge of catastrophe, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris' Fatherland, Station 11, and The Wall by John Lanchester.

HALF THE WORLD IS DARK. ONLY SHE CAN SAVE THE LIGHT.A high-concept, utterly original debut thriller which envisages a world on the edge of catastrophe, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris' Fatherland, Station 11, and The Wall by John Lanchester.It is 2059: forty years previously a solar catastrophe began to slow our planet's rotation. Now it has stopped so that one side of the world permanently faces the sun while the other is stuck in an eternal frozen night.

Britain is one of the few fortunate countries. Located in one of the few remaining temperate zones, it should have the means to support itself. In reality though it is struggling, and today it is a land stalked by hunger and violence.

It is also home to the American Zone, the last surviving enclave of the United States.

Ellen Hopper is a British scientist living on a frostbitten rig in the cold Atlantic. She wants nothing more to do with her country after its slide into authoritarianism and decay.

Yet when two government officials arrive demanding she return to London to see her dying tutor, she accepts – and begins to unravel a secret that threatens not only the nation's fragile balance, but the future of the whole human race.

  • Published: 6 February 2020
  • ISBN: 9781473571051
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 416

About the author

Andrew Hunter Murray

Andrew Hunter Murray is a scriptwriter and fact-hunter for BBC2’s QI. Heco-hosts the podcast No Such Thing As A Fish, which has had 200 million downloads, and has toured the UK, Europe and Australia. He also writes jokes and journalism for Private Eye magazine, and hosts the Eye’s podcast, Page 94.

The Last Day is his first novel.

Praise for The Last Day

I read this hungrily ... Its intelligence and bravura characterization will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement.

STEPHEN FRY

Murray should be commended for going into the nitty-gritty of how his post-disaster society functions[…] What really distinguishes the book, though, is the creative energy of its world-building: it demonstrates the virtue of using the future as a playground for the imagination rather than trying to second-guess it.

Telegraph: the best thrillers and crime fiction of 2020

A taut, thrilling runaround... The Last Day is an impressive dystopian techno-thriller. Murray paints a grim picture of a draconian isolationist Britain, with some vivid descriptions of a much-changed London, and the novel’s climax has a neat twist.

Guardian Books of the Month

A brilliant debutwhich blends apocalyptic drama with a tale of espionage, keeping readers on tenterhooks […] Fans of Robert Harris will love it.

Daily Express

A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about what’s happening today.

HARLAN COBEN

A fresh take on the dystopian thriller, to say it’s gripping is an understatement - I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it

SARA PASCOE

[A]n atmosphere reminiscent of PD James’s dystopian classic The Children of Men and alternative history thrillers such as Len Deighton’s SS-GB. As with those novels, The Last Day investigates the “boiled frog” nature of totalitarianism, with Hunter Murray imagining what Britain succumbing to it would look and feel like. The result is a beautifully realised and thought provoking-thriller.

The Times, Thriller of the Month

Dark, believable and brilliantly written

JENNY COLGAN

A thrilling page-turner, and a reminder to treasure our sunsets and sunrises while we still have them. I couldn’t put this book down!

Christina Dalcher, author of VOX

[A]n intriguing and unusual set-up […] enthralling sci-fi world building.

Sunday Times

In addition to masterfully painting a world on the brink of extinguishment […] Hunter Murray provides a top-notch plot that proves riveting until the very end.

Hot Press

An irresistible post-apocalyptic thriller.

Apple Books

A hugely atmospheric novelpowered by character rather than incident as Hopper is drawn deeper into a world she doesn’t understand… this has got a four part BBC Sunday night thriller written all over it.

Starburst Magazine

As well as masterfully painting a world on the very brink of extinguishment […] Hunter's plot keeps the pages turning quickly until the very end.Now that the apocalypse is upon us, and we're all confined to our rooms, this dose of fin du monde fun will more than pleasantly pass the time until the final hour arrives.

Hot Press

Related titles