> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 May 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552173254
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $26.00

The Orphans of Ardwick




Three orphaned street urchins struggle for a better life in this gritty historical saga set in 1860s Manchester.

**Don't miss Emma Hornby's brilliant first WWII saga, HER WARTIME SECRET - available now**

----------------------------

Fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Maggie Hope will love Emma Hornby.

After a cold, hard winter on the streets, three orphan children are about to give up hope when an unexpected turn of events brings them to the doorstep of a grand house in Ardwick, Manchester.

Taken in by the firm but kind-hearted cook, the young friends can hardly believe their luck. But behind Bracken House's impressive façade lies a household steeped in troubles and mystery, with residents above and below stairs battling their own demons and dark secrets.

Not everyone is happy about the new arrivals, and soon the orphans' safety is in danger. If they want to stay in the first home any of them have known for years, they must unravel the past and bring hope to the future. Will they succeed? Or will they come to regret ever leaving the mean slum streets they once called home?

Emma Hornby's page-turning, absorbing sagas will tug at your heartstrings.

----------------------------

Readers love Emma Hornby:

'Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story that will keep you guessing with twists and turns. Pure talent.'

'Emma Hornby's books just keep getting better and better. Honest, gritty, lovely characters.'

'Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can't wait for your next book. I've read them all.'

'Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can't wait for the next one!'

'Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read'

'Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby'

  • Published: 15 May 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552173254
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $26.00

About the author

Emma Hornby

Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.

Also by Emma Hornby

See all

Related titles