> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 2 June 2014
  • ISBN: 9780091950606
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 656
  • RRP: $35.00

The Thousand Names




A bold new direction for epic fantasy with muskets, demons and magic.

In the desert colony of Khandar, a dark and mysterious magic, hidden for centuries, is about to emerge from darkness.

Marcus d’Ivoire, senior captain of the Vordanai Colonials, is resigned to serving out his days in a sleepy, remote outpost, when a rebellion leaves him in charge of a demoralised force in a broken down fortress.

Winter Ihernglass, fleeing her past and masquerading as a man, just wants to go unnoticed. Finding herself promoted to a command, she must rise to the challenge and fight impossible odds to survive.

Their fates rest in the hands of an enigmatic new Colonel, sent to restore order while following his own mysterious agenda into the realm of the supernatural.

  • Pub date: 2 June 2014
  • ISBN: 9780091950606
  • Imprint: Del Rey
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 656
  • RRP: $35.00

About the Author

Django Wexler

Django Wexler graduated from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked for the university in artificial intelligence research. Eventually he migrated to Microsoft and Seattle, where he now lives with two cats and a teetering mountain of books. When not planning Shadow Campaigns, he wrangles computers, paints tiny soldiers, and plays games of all sorts.

www.djangowexler.com @DjangoWexler

Also by Django Wexler

See all

Praise for The Thousand Names

“an excellent book”

SFX

“Exceptional military fantasy”

Jason M. Hough, National Bestselling author of The Darwin Elevator

“The Coolest Fantasy Story You'll Read This Week”

i09

“Extremely strong debut, flintlock fantasy at its best ... there’s a new military fiction cowboy in town and his name is Django.”

Nick Sharps, SF Signal

“I absolutely loved it. Wexler balances the actions of his very human characters with just the right amount of imaginative "magic" to keep me wanting more”

Taylor Anderson, National Bestselling Author of the Destroyerman Series

“Wexler has produced something unusual in the fantasy line, with a setting reminiscent of the early Victorian period, out on the bleeding edge of Empire, a world of dust and bayonets and muskets... and magic. The characters are fascinating and - all- of them have secrets ... I read it at a gulp and look forward to more”

S.M. Stirling, New York Times bestselling author of LORD OF MOUNTAINS

“A spectacular epic”

Fantasy Book Critic

“...Django Wexler does what needs to be done in the opening volume of a fantasy epic: he introduces the characters and sets the scene, then successfully peels back the layers and raises the stakes. If you enjoy military fantasy and/or flintlock fantasy, The Thousand Names is definitely worth a look.”

Stefan, Tor.com

“And such detail on the military life! ... From camp conditions to battle tactics, to the lines of grand strategy, the authenticity of the military fantasy is here in full flower. We get set piece conflicts of all sorts, drills, the perils of trying to form a fighting force from raw units, and believeable campaigns, even given the genius of the commander. This is far and away the best and strongest selling point of the book.”

Paul, SF Signal

“The Thousand Names is an assured debut from Django Wexler and a must-read if you enjoy an action-packed, page-turner.”

Mike, Fantasy Faction

“...an ambitious, well-written opening act. I can’t wait for book two, and I think most readers will feel likewise after reading this.”

Stefan, Civilian Reader

“... I was very impressed with The Thousand Names and immediately dove into the sequel The Shadow Throne. Recommended.”

Rob, SFFWorld

“Wexler’s polished military fantasy, first in the Shadow Campaign series, distinguishes itself from other epic doorstops with its unique setting, intricate plotting, and layered characters…This excellent series debut is for fans of Peter Brett, Daniel Abraham, and Joe Abercrombie.”

Booklist

“The scenes of military life and combat tactics are well crafted.”

Publishers Weekly


Related titles